So Much Stuff….

I seem to have hit the jackpot recently in terms of Stuff You May Like, most of which seems to be on a bookish theme, and thought I would share. Enjoy!

Blogs of Note:

Book Riot:  Cool blog with lots of interesting articles. My personal favorite (so far) is the Book Fetish series which features links and pics of cool book-themed stuff you can buy and own. A lot of the links below were unabashedly taken from there.  I am still poking around on the site and their Facebook page (especially since I just discovered it this morning) but I can probably predict that this will become one of my regular sites to visit on the internet.

Building a Library – Finding the Right Books for Your Kid (Through Trial and Error):  When Tom, a writer, editor and long-term lover of books, found out that his wife was expecting, the first thing he did was go out and buy a book (The Phantom Tollbooth) that he couldn’t wait to share with his child. This blog is the ongoing saga of his and his daughter’s literary journey together.

Mighty Girl:  A site that celebrates the books and movies “for smart, confident, and courageous girls” In addition to being a great resource for parents, teachers, and young readers who are looking for empowering things to read and watch, it also features some great articles on reading, gender and cultural issues, information about great role models for young women. I like to keep an eye on this site for suggestions of things to share with my nieces but I also learn a lot myself. For example: a recent feature on their Facebook page sparked my interest in photojournalist, Dorothea Lange, (who I had never heard of before). 

Literary Art:
In my travels, I came across some incredible artwork being made out of books, including:

 Su Blackwell’s INCREDIBLE Book-Cut Sculptures 

Tunnel Books and Cut-Outs by PistolesPress

Literary Tower of Babel: This is one project I wish I had known about in time. There is no way I could have gotten there to see it in person, but I would have sent a book. It was just too big and too cool to not want to contribute to.

 Of Books and Screens:

The Return of Reading Rainbow: I am probably dating myself a bit but I have to admit that the show, Reading Rainbow, was insanely influential on me as a child. In fact, it is second only to the Muppet Show (which they should TOTALLY bring back to T.V. or at least start showing the reruns!). According to the article I read, Levar Burton is bringing Reading Rainbow to the iPad. It should be interesting to see how the program does in the new media. In related news, the theme song is seriously stuck in my head… again.  

HBO to Make American Gods T.V. Show: HBO bought the rights to Neil Gaiman’s novel, American Gods, and is planning on making a T.V. series out of it. This can either be incredibly good or incredibly bad. Only time will tell.

 (Oh, and speaking of Neil Gaiman, here is a full text transcript of his “Make Good Art” commencement speech )

 
Stuff to Buy for the Bibliophile In Your Life:

Book-shaped dinnerware:  Too bad these only come in sets of 36. I would have liked to have some of them but I really can’t justify the bulk. 

Novel-T: I would love to add a bunch of these to my wardrobe but alas, they do not come in my size.

Baroque Bookshelves: Too cool!!

USB Typewriter: Perfect for when you want an old-school, literary experience but still want modern conveniences. 

Book Bricks: I am imagining a brick wall in the garden of the house that I will someday own with these bricks in them.

Book Rug

Stacked Teacups Bookshelf:  

Romeo and Julienne Hardwood Cutting Board:  Who doesn’t love a pun?

 Book Tent: I know lots of people who enjoy crawling into a good book. Now they can do it literally (or literarily or both). 


Stuff to Know:

15 Wonderful Words with No English Equivalent:  

Famous Novelists on Symbolism in Their Works and Whether it was Intentional:  

 Literary Crafts / DIY:

How to make a Book Lamp 

How to make a Backyard Scrabble Board:  (Something that I will have to put in yard at the future house, not far from the book brick wall)

How to make Miniature Book Pendants 

Text Manicure  

Funny Pictures:

 

I don’t know if I would go as far as to tattoo it on my body but this is my favorite moment in the Hitchhiker series.  

 

 

 

Paging Walter Mitty….

 

I am looking at you, Picoult!

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Books, Crafts, Films and TV, Humor, Links, Literature, Shopping, Stuff You May Like and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

