Book Review: Twenty Love Poems and a Song of Despair by Pablo Neruda

Twenty Love Poems and a Song of DespairTwenty Love Poems and a Song of Despair by Pablo Neruda

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Lush, sensual, and passionate, Twenty Love Poems and a Song of Despair is a simply gorgeous collection of poems by Chilean poet, Pablo Neruda.

What I love about Neruda’s work is how earthy it is and by that, I mean that his poetry blends a frank appreciation of love and sex with natural images of pines, islands, sea, and sky in a way that is elemental and evocative and breathtaking.

For me, reading this book evoked images of a poet scribbling his verses by the light of a full moon while salt-laden island breezes wafted through open wooden shutters to cool the glistening skin of the smiling, sated woman sleeping in the tangled bed just behind him.

I am left in awe of how romantic and beautiful these poems are and I cannot wait to discover more of his incredibly poetry.

View all my reviews

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Books, Literature, Poems and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Book Review: Twenty Love Poems and a Song of Despair by Pablo Neruda

  1. Pingback: Pablo Neruda Love Poems and Bracelet | Ciarrai Studios

Leave a Reply

