Book Review – The Love Goddess’ Cooking School by Melissa Senate

The Love Goddess' Cooking SchoolThe Love Goddess’ Cooking School by Melissa Senate

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

There is a genre of books where a group of people (usually women with one lone guy thrown into the mix) gather together in some sort of club or class (knitting, quilting, Jane Austen books or in this case, cooking) and by the end of the book, they have formed close friendships and had a major problem in their lives resolved through the magic of whatever interest had drawn them together in the first place. Sometimes, this genre can produce a good book or even a good series of books (for example – The Elm Creek Quilt series). And sometimes, it can result in books that are a little cotton candy-ish. By that I mean, they are light, fluffy, fun to consume but really don’t have much substance.

The Love Goddess’ Cooking School is one of the better examples of the genre. It sort of reminded me of the Friday Night Knitting Club meets the Under the Tuscan Sun (more the film version than the book itself but still) with little hints of Laura Esquivel or Joanne Harris thrown in for flavor.

While it does end in the typical “everything-worked-out and everyone-is-perfectly-matched-up-and-happy” sort of way, it doesn’t cut corners getting there. The characters and the plotlines felt honest and realistic. And while The Love Goddess’ Cooking School will never be considered great literature, it was a fun, easy-going and satisfying read.

View all my reviews

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Books, Literature and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

