Book Review – The Mermaids Singing by Lisa Carey

The Mermaids SingingThe Mermaids Singing by Lisa Carey

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

When I first started reading The Mermaids Singing, I would never have guessed that I would end up liking it so much. Out of the three generations of characters that the story revolves around, I didn’t start out liking either the mother, Grace, or the daughter, Grainne. Only my interest in the grandmother, Cliona (and later on, the father, Seamus) kept me reading the book. And I am grateful that it did.

At the end of the day, I really enjoyed the story and came to like or accept each of the characters and their choices. The author also incorporates stories and themes from the history of Grace O’Malley, the Pirate Queen of Ireland and of Mermaids… which adds layers of meaning and shades of mythology to the characters and their relationships with each other. And the author is very clever is with some of the details she weaves casually into the story which pay off in the end in a way that I did not anticipate but really enjoyed.

View all my reviews

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Books, Literature and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

