Book Review – The Moment It Clicks by Joe McNally

The Moment It Clicks: Photography secrets from one of the world's top shootersThe Moment It Clicks: Photography secrets from one of the world’s top shooters by Joe McNally

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I could sum this review up in three words. Seriously cool book!!!! Joe McNally’s The Moment It Clicks is the best photography book I have ever read and is one of the best books on any subject that I have ever read.

The book features tons of incredible pictures, many of which you will recognize from magazines. For each shot, McNally shares the story behind it and the lesson he learned from it. You get to see the creative process behind his work, both the times when inspiration and circumstance aligned to produce an amazing photo and the times when he was left scrambling and improvising. McNally also shares the technical elements of each shot… how he lit it, what he used to shoot it, and why. These details alone makes the book worth it and believe me, I will be absorbing that wealth of information for quite a while.

But even if you have no interest in the technical aspects of photography, this book is fascinating. With it portraits of interesting people, both in front of and behind the camera and it insights into the challenges, sacrifices, joys and frustrations of being a professional photographer, The Moment It Clicks is simply an amazing read.

View all my reviews

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Books, Literature, Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Book Review – The Moment It Clicks by Joe McNally

  1. ishootnikon says:

    Was wondering if I should get that book and your review helped me not to order it but the new one Joe wrote.

  2. ishootnikon says:

    Hi,

    oh nothing. It’s not a book I’m looking for at the moment that’s all hence my reply.

Leave a Reply

