Defining the Stars

I record and review all of the books I read through Goodreads. Over the past few years, I have been grading each book on their scale of 1 to 5 stars but had no real system for determining what made a 5 star book a 5 star book other than a basic gut reaction. I think that system (or complete lack of one) was confusing and inaccurate so I have decided to define the stars and what I mean by giving any specific book a particular rating.

I will say that these categories are really too broad for my personal taste but that Goodreads doesn’t allow for you to give any partial scores (for example – 4 and a half stars) so I do the best I can within their system.

5 Stars – I LOVED this book. I enjoyed reading it so much that I would definitely add it to my personal library and would read and re-read it frequently. I would enjoy discussing this book with others and would definitely recommend it to a friend.

4 Stars –  I REALLY LIKED this book. I would like to add it to my personal collection and would enjoy re-reading it. I would probably recommend it to a friend.

3 Stars – I enjoyed this book (or at least parts of it) but not enough to make an impression on me. I probably wouldn’t purchase a copy of it, spend much time re-reading it or discussing it with others. I might recommend it to a friend but not as anything particularly amazing.

2 Stars – I ACTIVELY disliked this book. Definitely wouldn’t purchase it, re-read it or recommend it to a friend.

1 Star / 0 Stars – I HATED and LOATHED this book. Discussions about this book tend to be loud, passionate rants. See – James Joyce.

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Books, Literature and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

