Best Laid Plans

While I have been busy getting ready for school and helping my knitting store, Keep Me In Stitches transition to its new home, I still have had a lot of other things on my plate and I seem to be spending a lot of time adjusting my plans for the unexpected.

Birthdays!

I am a doting aunt and I really enjoy spending time with my nieces and nephews. Two of my nieces, K. and Emma have their birthdays a week apart and so we made plans to go out and celebrate. We went out to Robinson’s Tea Room in Stony Brook for a tea party. (If you are in the area, I highly recommend Robinson’s Tea Room – They have a million kinds of tea and make the BEST scones with cream and jam!!) After that, the original plan was to go fly kites at a local beach, My husband, Rob, flies kites as a hobby and the kids love it when they get to fly kites with Uncle Rob. Then we planned on going back to Stony Brook where we would take the girls on a horse-drawn carriage ride down by Stony Brook Harbor and back.

The tea room was wonderful (as usual). But unfortunately, the weather was not cooperative and we ended up scrapping the outdoor activities and going to Chucky Cheese instead. I hate Chucky Cheese (partially because of the noise and chaos and partially because of an embarrassing ball pit incident from my youth that involved the person in the Chucky Cheese costume diving in to rescue me) but I love my nieces. Rob and I spent the afternoon chasing after a very excited 11-year-old and 5-year-old. The girls had a good time, which is all that matters but I am not ashamed to admit that I left there exhausted.

Misc. Knitting Stuff

Almost every waking minute that hasn’t involved the store, getting ready for school to start or family stuff, has been devoted to knitting. I make a lot of hand-made gifts but I am very organized and good at planning ahead so I don’t usually get stressed about it. But I have had a couple of last-minute surprises thrown at me and it has created a bit of a traffic jam in my knitting queue.

I had TWO babies (due within two weeks of each other) that I needed to make blankets for. Unfortunately, I didn’t get a lot of notice about the new arrivals and I have been playing catch up ever since. I got one blanket down, the Aran Sample Baby Blanket that I posted here a while ago. I haven’t been able to catch up with the new parents yet but when I do get to meet Miss Cooper Riley, her blanket is all ready to go.

Baby #2 has not made an appearance quite yet and I appreciate that since I am still working on his/her blanket.  I did learn my lesson and picked a quick, fairly easy pattern that I can work on anywhere – thereby maximizing my knitting time. It also helps that this is a knit and purl pattern with a two-line repeat that I have memorized and can just fly through without having to track 15 different cables. Still there is only so many hours in the day and with so much going on, I don’t always make the progress that I am hoping for. I think I am about halfway done so there is hope.

In addition to all the baby blankets, I have two scarves on my needles right now. I have been asked to make a scarf as a sample for Keep Me In Stitches‘ new store. It involves a lot of short rows, knitting partially across a row and then back to the beginning several times rather than just knitting across once and then starting the next row. It’s an interesting scarf with some nice  flow-y ruffles but it’s going a little slower than I had hoped.

Lastly, I have my Aunt’s birthday coming up in a week or so and I have to finish her gift, a big comfy scarf that she can wear when she is out birding during the fall and winter months. Again, I made my life a little simpler by going with a basic seed stitch scarf. I LOVE seed stitch. I can do it in my sleep and it looks gorgeous, especially with the variegated yarn that I picked up for this project.

If I can just get past the first two weeks of September, I should be all caught up. I will still have to finish making all the Christmas gifts but I have working on that since before last Christmas and I have a head start (16 done, 1 in progress).

Impending Hurricane

The birthday festivities were supposed to continue throughout the weekend. K’s big birthday party was supposed to be this weekend. Her mother planned a baseball birthday party at the Long Island Ducks. But as we speak, a hurricane is heading this way. (Seriously – what is up with a week that starts with an Earthquake and ends with a hurricane?!!) We are hoping that Irene turns out to sea or weakens but either way, things are going to be wet and windy – not the best weather for a baseball game.

So now my family is trying to get everything in order just in case and we’re watching to see what happens with the storm. I am hoping that we don’t get anything significant enough to be dangerous but serious enough that I am forced to stay home and regroup.  Life has been hectic enough lately that any excuse to stay put for a little while is a good one.

Either way, I wish anyone who is reading a good weekend. Stay dry, stay safe!

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Crafts, Friends and Family Stuff, Knitting, What's Up With Ciarrai and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

