The Hurricane Irene Knitting Marathon

Hurricane Irene has come and gone and everyone here made it through safe and sound. Thank God. We lost power for a day (and internet / cable which was a little more traumatic) but really came through the storm without anything more serious than some minor inconveniences.  A neighbor up the street had a more eventful experience when a tree in their yard uprooted and fell over, covering the entire road. My hubby, Rob, and my sisters took these shots when they went for a walk after the hurricane had passed.

 

DSC_5768

DSC_5798

I spent most of the hurricane trying to finish all the many knitting projects that were coming due soon. It was a little difficult to see without electricity but fortunately, “my” space on the sofa is near a window that lets in a good amount of sunlight even with heavy cloud cover. Still I decided to work on the two projects that were light in color (to make things as easy as possible on my eyes) and that were a basic stitch that didn’t need a lot of counting or referring to a written pattern. My plan seemed to work because I managed to finish 2 out of 3 of the projects that I was racing to complete.

This is a basic seed stitch scarf knit out of Plymouth Baby Alpaca Grande Yarn in a blue – teal – green colorway that I made for my Aunt’s upcoming birthday. The scarf is super long (long enough to wrap around a couple of times) and should be super cozy for when she is feeding the birds during the colder months. I am thinking about picking up some more of the yarn and making a matching hat but that will depend on how much time I have to devote to it between now and her birthday.

Seed Stitch Scarf - Aunt Sharon (8/11)

And this is a baby blanket  I made for a friend of the family who is expecting a baby boy any day now. The pattern can be found here but I increased the size of the blanket by adding more repeats. It isn’t the most ambitious blanket I have ever made and I think I really should have gone down a needle size to get a slightly firmer fabric but it was a quick, low-stress pattern that was fun to make.

Baby Blanket - Colette (8/11)

Both projects were about a third of the way done when the hurricane hit so I am pretty proud of myself for getting as much done on them as I did.

And now that I have plowed through these projects (and the one remaining “in progress” project is on hold) I can actually look around for something else to knit. Anyone have any suggestions?

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Crafts, Finished Objects, Knitting, What's Up With Ciarrai and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

