Seventh Stocking Syndrome

There is a common phenomenon among knitters called Second Sock Syndrome. This is where a knitter starts knitting a pair of socks but their enthusiasm and/or attention span wanes after they finish the first sock – which either means they have to power through the second sock or get used to mis-matched socks.  I am experiencing a more severe variation of this dreaded knitting disorder – Seventh Stocking Syndrome.

Basically, I am in the middle of making and stockpiling gifts for Christmas. I love a project so I enjoy coming up with gifts to make for many of my friends and family members and then racing to see if I can get everything done in time. There’s a real sense of accomplishment in getting everything done before the holiday and recently, I have been racing to see just how early I can get everything done. I get teased a lot about how early I start working on my Christmas gifts but my system has a lot of advantages. I can spread out the cost of gifts over several months rather than scrambling all at once. I can avoid the last-minute rush and if I play my cards right, I can get through Christmas without ever setting foot in a mall or having to go out shopping in cold or snowy weather.  One of the most satisfying things ever is being able to sit back and relax with all my gifts done and wrapped under the tree while the people who tease me about my Christmas prep “obsession” are stressing about getting to the mall. This year, I am aiming to be done by Thanksgiving or really soon thereafter. I don’t know if I will make it but it would be really cool if I did.

This year, I came up with the idea of making little Christmas Stocking ornaments for Rob and my cousins and filling them with gift cards and a little candy cane. It seemed like a cute little gift idea until I realized that I would have to make 14 of them or more. (Right now, I am estimating that I will only need 14 but experience has taught me to expect last-minute additions to the Christmas list). And while each individual stocking is a quick knit, the fact that there is so many of them seems to be making things move slower.

The good news is that Rob has been working a lot of overtime this weekend, which gives me a lot of free time on my hands that I have been using to make a dent in the stocking project. I have seven of them done and only seven left to do if all goes according to plan. I should be able to knock them out fairly quickly but my enthusiasm (and therefore my knitting speed and attention span) is dwindling fast. It will be a race to see if I can finish the rest of the stockings before stocking ennui sets in. Wish me luck!

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Christmas Crafting, Crafts, Knitting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Seventh Stocking Syndrome

  1. My, my, my. I know it’s a bit late now, but, uh, ever hear of Magic Loop? 😀

  2. Ciarrai says:

    I have heard of it but never learned it. Is it quicker for this sort of thing?

Leave a Reply

