There and Back Again… New Hampshire Trip: Part I

Every year, Rob and I try to make it up to NH to visit my cousin / best friend, Nikki and my god-daughter, Katrina. We typically aim for October since Kat’s b-day is in October and Nikki throws a party / plans some outings to do with everyone who wants to celebrate this wonderful event. This year, Kat’s party is going to be very late in the month so we aren’t going to be able to make it so we made arrangements with Nikki to come a few weeks early. The weekend we picked to come up was a busy one for Nikki. She had plans to go to King Richard’s Fair – a yearly trip for her which she couldn’t do any other weekend – and the Sullivan Apple Festival. So if we were going to visit, we were also going to King Richard’s Fair and the Sullivan Apple Festival.

Things were a bit tighter (in terms of schedule and finances and logistics) than I would prefer and I have had family drama, school deadlines and health issues that were kicking my butt pretty badly but I love my cousin and god-daughter and this was my only opportunity to see them for a while so Rob and I drove from NY to NH Friday afternoon after my morning class was over. We got there too late to see them but it was nice to be able to settle into the hotel for some privacy, peace and quiet. I managed to get some knitting done (which was great because I have been too frantic the last week to do more than a row here and there).  

King Richard’s Faire:
The next morning was the faire. We got up early (very early) and met up at Nikki’s house. Nikki and Katrina were dressed in beautiful Renn Faire outfits that Nikki made herself. She isn’t an expert seamstress so these outfits represent a lot of time, effort and stress – above and beyond the amount of time and effort that would normally go into making such beautiful outfits from scratch.

 Katrina had a pair of fairy wings that they bought a few years back and very proudly told me that she is a water fairy. She even asked me for a water fairy necklace so now I am designing something in my head with blue and green crystal drops to simulate water droplets. I wish I could get them done and up to her by Halloween so she would have it to wear with her costume but I don’t see it happening. The good news is that Nikki made Kat’s outfit big enough that she should get use out of it next year too so I should be able to get a water fairy necklace done by the next time she goes to a faire.

Anyway, here are a couple of shots of my best friend and the most adorable water fairy goddaughter anyone could wish for. Didn’t Nik do a great job?!

Katrina and Mommy at the Faire

Katrina and Mommy at the Faire

Nikki added to her outfit as the day went on. She bought some elf ears to wear at faires (which I guess will double as Vulcan ears when she does sci-fi conventions – so much geekery!) and I got a flower wreath only to discover that it didn’t fit me as well as I wanted so it ended up getting added to Nikki’s outfit.

Renn Faire Elf Nikki

I even got into the fun and tried on some wings. They were way too expensive and they didn’t have a pair in my size in any color that I would want to buy so I didn’t purchase a set but I think I managed to pull them off and if I ever have the money and opportunity, I may pick up a pair someday.

Me Trying on Wings

 Pillow Fight:
King Richard’s Faire is not my favorite Renn Faire. Given a choice, I would pick the Maryland Renaissance Festival any day of the week. I would LIVE at the Maryland Renn Faire if I had the option. But there is one thing that KFR has over MD…. The Pillow Fight Arena. I seriously love this thing. I am contemplating building one in my backyard. I think it is the best way of resolving marital and family conflicts ever. 

Basically, it involves a rather smooth, somewhat slippery log, surrounded by hay. The two combatants sit cross-legged on the log and then whack each other with pillows until one of them falls off the log into the hay. Best two out of three wins. I am undefeated in my pillow fights. Last year, my niece, K, and I went head to head. This year, I challenged my husband, Rob. I put my camera on continuous shot mode and sports mode and handed it to Nikki to record the proceedings. Here we are at the start of the fight:
Pillow Fight!!!

The battle becomes heated:

Pillow Fight!!!

I get the upper hand (love the scrunched up look on his face here!):

Pillow Fight!!!

Rob takes me out in Round 2 (Nikki didn’t get a shot of him going down in the first round):

Kerry Goes Down! - Rob wins this Round!

But ultimately he falls:

Rob Starts to Fall

And I gloat over his prone body in the straw…

Kerry Gloats Over the Body of Her Fallen Opponent

Seriously, even if we did nothing else, the pillow fight log is worth the price of admission. But we did do a lot of other stuff. Rob did some archery.

Archer Rob

And, being the best uncle, he took Katrina through the maze twice. At the end of the maze, you have the choice to go out a door or down a slide. Not only was Rob a good sport and went down the slide but he did it with style.

Uncle Rob on the Maze Slide

Both Nikki and I had our cameras and we took a ton of shots of anything that caught our eyes. You can see Nik’s shots here if you are so inclined. Even if you aren’t in the mood to look at all the photos, you should check out this one – seriously good timing Nikki!!!

Here is Nikki taking some photos of Katrina – her best and cutest subject:

Getting the Shot

Mommy Taking Pictures

And here are some of my shots:

Suit of Armor

The Water Fairy and the Bubble Fairy

  Faire Belly Dancer

Faire Belly Dancer

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Events / Places to Go, Friends and Family Stuff, Renaissance Faires, Trips and Travel, What's Up With Ciarrai and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

