There and Back Again – New Hampshire Trip: Part II

After the faire, we all went back to Nikki’s house for dinner and some board games. We are all geeks and love to play games. Between Rob, Nikki and I, you have gamers of all types – Role Playing Games (RPG’s), Board Games, Video Games, etc. While I have played RPG’s and have a few video games that I enjoy (Tetris!!!!) I am mostly a board game fanatic. I love the classics like Scrabble and Monopoly but I also like a bunch of games that are a little off the beaten track. My favorite games are: Settlers of Catan, Puerto Rico, Carcassone, Cartagena, Apples to Apples, and Once Upon a Time.

From the game i almost won...

(Settlers of Catan Game)

Rob and I run into trouble sometimes because there is only two of us and many of our favorite games require three or more people. We would love to find other players that were into the same games as we are so we could play more often but haven’t had much luck so far. So we look forward to hanging out with Nikki because we can finally pull out some of the games that we don’t get to play that often. This time around, we taught Nikki how to play Puerto Rico. It isn’t a hard game but it takes a little while to explain and has enough bits and pieces that it looks very intimidating for someone who is trying to learn how to play. Since it was just the three of us (instead of a big birthday party) we had the space and time needed to walk her through the game. Rob won but Nikki came really close to beating him. I am not sure she loved the game but if I recall, it took us a couple of games to lose the intimidating feeling of learning the game and actually start enjoying it so maybe there is hope that Nik will get as addicted as we did.

Sullivan Apple Festival:
The next morning, we got up early again (need.. more…. sleep…) and met up with Nikki and Katrina to go to the Sullivan Apple Festival. It was a cute festival with a bunch of little games for the kids, pumpkin painting, make-your-own-scarecrow, apple picking and things like that. There was a giant, inflatable Hulk over by one of the tables that I made Rob pose with. Normally, I think he would have found it as funny as I did but he so wasn’t in the mood. Still, he humored me for a couple of shots. Nikki had to do the honors since my camera battery had died.

Rob smash!
We followed Nikki around the festival for a while but had already run out of cash for the weekend (and the festival was cash only so we couldn’t do any of the activities with them), my camera battery had died so I couldn’t take photos of them doing the activities and I was feeling more than a little queasy so we decided to bow out and let them enjoy the festival without us. We found a local Barnes and Nobles where I could sit still (thereby not aggravating a very upset stomach) and read / knit in peace until they were done.  When it got late, and my stomach settled enough that food was a possibility, Rob and I went out to get some lunch – (Thank God for credit cards!). We didn’t know the area and didn’t want to risk getting lost (especially since we ended up crossing the state border into Mass.) so we went to the first thing we could find – an Outback Steakhouse where we learned a weird trivia fact – it is illegal in the state of MA to serve lobster tails or claws. you have to serve the whole lobster or nothing at all. It wasn’t a big deal to us then because we really couldn’t be spending that kind of money on this trip but we thought it was funny.

Back to Nikki’s:
After lunch, we headed back to Nikki’s for more board games. We pulled out Cartagena. It’s a cool little game where you play a crew of pirates that have been arrested and are scheduled to hang the next morning unless you can get all your guys through a tunnel to an escape boat before another crew boards it and leaves you behind. I typically play the green team so I was unhappy to find that one of my green pieces was missing. Nikki had a bag of M&M’s handy so I fished out 6 green ones and proceeded to play with them instead of the game pieces. I had one rough moment when I was looking at the board, trying to figure out why I was short one piece again. It turns out, I accidentally ate one of my guys. I won the game and Katrina found the missing game piece so I was pretty happy. We also played Apples to Apples – which is always fun.

And then I did a top-secret craft project with Katrina in her room. I always do little projects with my nieces so they have gifts to give their mothers for Christmas, birthdays and Mother’s Day. But it is hard to get time with Katrina to do her projects since she lives so far away. I worked on her mother’s Christmas gift with her when she was down here visiting for my birthday in May but I am not likely to see her between now and Nikki’s b-day in April so I had to plan ahead and get the gift done really early. We had a great time coloring and talking but then Uncle Rob and I had to leave if we were going to get home at any reasonable hour.

Home Again:
We tried to do the trip straight through – no stopping which, in retrospect, was a huge mistake. I don’t drive on long trips – I get very anxious going at the speeds that you need to go on major highways – so these trips can be pretty hard on Rob. It would have been better if we had taken an extra day to travel during the daylight but I had school (and a midterm) on Monday and Rob had to work. We were pretty beaten up when we finally got home but we made it home safely. It was a good trip but it was exhausting and the fact that I think I am coming down with something is not helping. *sigh*

Today, Rob got up at 5 am to go to work and I dragged myself to school and took my Asian American Literature midterm.  I seriously don’t know how he is standing since I got up much later and I feel like the walking undead. I know that when he gets home (which should be in the next half hour) we are planning on collapsing and making sure we get to bed really early. I refuse to do any more studying or thinking today and simply will not do anything more strenuous that write and post this entry and possibly knit on the afghan I am making while watching some tv. I know I owe you guys some more quotes of the day but it will have to wait until my brain starts functioning again. I am hoping that I feel better tomorrow and if so, I will play catch up then. Hopefully, I will talk to you soon!!

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Friends and Family Stuff, Gaming Stuff, Trips and Travel, What's Up With Ciarrai and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

