Tired…. So Very Tired.

I have been dealing with a lot and working a lot and then I travelled over the weekend so I think I would be feeling worn down today no matter what but the fact that I caught a cold that seems to have taken up most of the space in my head and lungs is not helping. Still today was a vitally important day in my semester. My paper for the Short Story class I am taking was due and I was scheduled to do my presentation for my Asian American Lit class. If I didn’t make it in to class today, I would literally wasted weeks of work and stress and it would have seriously impacted my grades in both classes. So I needed to power through.

I was concerned that the cold medicine I am taking to keep my head from exploding would cause me to oversleep and I was extremely worried that my car (which has become somewhat unreliable about starting when you turn the key) would fail me at a critical moment. As it turns out, I got to school just fine. I was so anxious about oversleeping that I couldn’t sleep and I had called my aunt and made arrangements for her to be my back-up transportation if my car situation went badly. (Thank you SOOOOO much Aunt Kathy!). But my car actually behaved itself today and I got to school ok. (Thank you God!!)

I handed in my paper and while I haven’t gotten my grade back yet, I have good reason to expect a high grade on it. I ran previous drafts past the professor and he told me that it was a great paper and I shouldn’t change a thing on it which is rather encouraging.

Then I went to my Asian American Lit class. I have been prepping this presentation for a while now. I was supposed to give it on Monday but the professor was out last week so the midterm and my presentation got pushed to today. I was a bit nervous because my run through at home went over the 20 minutes we were supposed to take and because I am not the best speaker I can be when I am having trouble breathing. But things went well and the professor told me that there is no way he isn’t giving me an A on my presentation. (He also mentioned that he thinks that I am intimidating for some of the freshmen in the class but I don’t know what I am supposed to do about that). We also got our midterms from Monday back and I got an A on that too.

So now, I have met all my obligations and objectives for the day and I am giving myself permission to be sick. I seriously need to collapse and get some rest and not be stressing about a million things. I do have a midterm one week from today that I will need to review for but not today. Today, the most strenuous thing I want to do or think about is the blanket I am knitting for my mother’s Christmas gift. I think I have earned a break and I am going to take it while I can.

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in School Stuff, What's Up With Ciarrai and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

