Checking In

Road TripToday was supposed to be the day that Rob and I headed down to one of my favorite places on Earth – the Maryland Renn Faire. Unfortunately, it’s just not going to happen this year. Both of our cars have had major problems in the past two weeks. My car and I are having a bit of a disagreement on where the Park gear is – which has interesting implications for when you go to park the car and when you attempt to start it. Meanwhile, the brakes and a couple of other essential elements of Rob’s car completely died this week, requiring $700 worth of repairs. To complicate matters even further, I am still sick (although definitely on the mend) and with so much ganging up on us at the same time, we decided to take the hint and skip the faire this year. *sigh* At least we get to spend some extra time together this weekend.

On the good side of things, Rob and I were able to go to a book reading / signing for the Yarn Harlot’s latest book, All Wound Up. The Harlot aka Stephanie Pearl-McPhee was funny and charming as usual and we had a great time.

In other knitting news, I have made some significant progress on the Christmas crafting. In fact, with the exception of 1 pair of socks that I am making for my brother-in-law, Ed, I am done with the Christmas crafting – in October. Just to sum up I have made: 13 Christmas stocking ornaments / gift card holders, 5 scarves, 3 harts, 3 cloisonnĂ© hummingbird ornaments, 3 dollhouse purses, 2 necklaces, 2 bracelets, 2 teddy bears, 1 throw blanket, 1 pair of fingerless gloves, 1 baby sweater and a knitted nativity set. *Does a little dance of knitting superiority*

Here are some pictures of the latest batch of stuff:

Viking Hat - Dad - 10/11

Viking Hat for Dad – Recently my dad and I developed a tradition where I make him a wacky hat for Christmas. This year, I decided it was time for a viking hat. While I stopped short of the full-out insane version with a knitted beard, I think he will like it and wear it out and about (much to my mom’s chagrin).

Giving Tree Throw Blanket - 10/11

Mom’s Giving Tree Throw Blanket – I designed and knitted this throw blanket for my mom. Each block is a lace leaf pattern and it reminded me of Shel Silverstein’s The Giving Tree which my mom used to read to my sisters and me.

Feather and Fan Scarf - Pat 10/11

Pat’s Feather and Fan Scarf – I made this scarf for my mother in law, Pat. It is made out of this incredible yarn that is half silk and half alpaca. I had already made the dropped stitch scarf (shown below) as her Christmas gift but the little hint of gold metallic in the ribbon (while very pretty) is a little scratchy. So I decided to make this second scarf out of a very soft, comfortable yarn so that both ends of the spectrum were covered.

Drop Stitch Scarf - Pat (7/2011)

I still have Ed’s socks to worry about (and color work is my knitting kryptonite) but other than that I am completely done with Christmas crafting (and the bulk of my Christmas shopping). I have never finished this early and I am feeling pretty proud of myself. I really was worried that I would have a massive breakdown if I was trying to meet a knitting deadline while studying for finals and working on my last paper. Luckily, I think I have managed to avoid that… thank God!

Speaking of school, the midterm time crunch is finally over. I had my last exam this past Wednesday which means that some of the pressure is off of me. I seemed to have done pretty well. I am still waiting on my grade for the Short Story midterm but I got an A on my Asian American Lit midterm, an A on my presentation on “No Name Woman” (the first chapter of Maxine Hong Kingston’s Woman Warrior) and an A on my essay on the short story, “Boule de Suif.” In fact, my professor suggested that I submit the essay to an essay writing competition that is coming up pretty soon. The prize is a small scholarship, which I would love to win. It’s not much money from what I understand but every bit can help when you are paying for classes out-of-pocket and the validation of winning something like this would be great. I don’t know how likely it is that I could win the contest but since the essay is already done, it doesn’t cost me anything to try.

So with a little bit of breathing space, Rob and I are enjoying some time to relax and regroup. He’s playing Rock Band while I type this post. (He is currently singing Under Pressure which is one of my favorite Queen songs). And when we are done, we have some homemade chicken soup made for dinner – very yummy and very good to eat now that the evenings have started to get a bit chilly here.

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Book Readings / Signings, Books, Christmas Crafting, Crafts, Finished Objects, Knitting, Literature, Music, What's Up With Ciarrai and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

