Book Reviews – Charles de Lint’s Newford Series

Now that I am on winter break from school and have lots of free time on my hands, I have decided to post some book reviews that I wrote back before I started this site. I want to do this for two reasons. First of all, I love some of these books and would love to share them with you guys. Secondly, I know myself and my tendency to get obsessive during the semester and so, anticipating that there will probably be a posting drought in our future, I want to get some stuff posted here while I still can.

Today’s reviews are from Charles de Lint’s Newford series. If you are a fan of urban fantasy and you haven’t read any of the Newford books, you are seriously missing out. The series consists of novels and anthologies of short stories but I am going to focus on some of my favorite novels today and save the short stories for another time.

Someplace to be Flying
Someplace to be Flying is one of my favorite Newford books and, truth be told, one of my favorite books overall. If I had to recommend only one book to introduce a new reader to Newford, this would be the one. It really is de Lint at his best, creating a fascinating urban fantasy world where mythic, shapeshifting “First People” walk modern city streets. But it is characters that really shine here, characters like the Crow Girls and Jack Daw, that you can’t help falling in love with.

Promises to Keep / The Onion Girl / Widdershins
One of Newford’s MVPs is Jilly Coopercorn, an big-hearted artist with knack for seeing magical things in unlikely places.  Some of the best Newford stories revolve around Jilly and her friends. Yet Jilly’s life has had its dark periods too. She has a history of abuse, of addiction and pain that she has never quite dealt with. These three books: Promises to Keep, The Onion Girl and Widdershins are a sort of trilogy that chronicle Jilly’s life and recovery in a way that could only be done in Newford. There are times when the books get a little rough to read – and I don’t recommend reading The Onion Girl without having Widdershins on standby – but they are incredible books in an incredible series and I strongly recommend them.

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Books, Literature and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

