Book Reviews: Even the Stars Look Lonesome / Letter to My Daughter / Collected Poems of Maya Angelou

Here are two more book reviews from before I started Celtic Knits, both written by Maya Angelou, a fascinating woman and an amazing writer and poet.

Letter to My DaughterLetter to My Daughter by Maya Angelou

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

With Mother’s Day right around the corner, it seemed an ideal time to read Maya Angelou’s Letter to My Daughter. I was intrigued by the notion of a woman who gave birth to one child, a son, writing a letter to her “thousands of daughters,” who are “White, Jewish and Muslim, Asian, Spanish-speaking, Native American and Aleut…. fat and thin, pretty and plan, gay and straight, educated and unlettered,” letters that contain “accounts of growing up, unexpected emergencies, a few poems, some light stories to make you laugh and some to make you meditate.”

I should mention that until this book, I had never read any of Maya Angelou’s writing other than the occasional poem or a quote that had been attributed to her. Now that I have read this, I am in total awe of the woman’s writing, both her skill with words and the life and topics that she chooses to write about.

I cannot recommend this book enough and plan on seeking out more of Maya Angelou’s work as soon as possible.

View all my reviews

Even The Stars Look LonesomeEven The Stars Look Lonesome by Maya Angelou

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

My favorite Maya Angelou books are those that contain a mix of poetry and essays on everything and anything under the sun. Even the Stars Look Lonesome is an excellent example of that and I loved it. Some of the essays were funny, some were moving, some were thought-provoking, and all were well written and interesting. My personal favorites were “A Song to Sensuality”, “Mother and Freedom”, and “Even the Stars Look Lonesome Sometimes.”
View all my reviews

Lastly, while I don’t have a formal review of the book, I highly recommend The Collected Poems of Maya Angelou. Maya has such a gift with words and her poems are lovely, thought-provoking and inspiring.

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Books, Literature, Poems and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

