Spring in the face of winter

After months of fairly mild weather, a bitter chill has set in the air. I am trying hard not to complain too much. After all, since I am on break from school, I don’t have to go out in the cold if I don’t t want to and this time last year, we were buried under the snow from not one, but two major storms. Still, I am not a big fan of the cold and as I hunker down for a few more months of Winter, I am really looking forward to Spring. To tide me over, I am knitting up a bit of Spring for myself – a wispy little scarf with the sweetest lace butterfly motifs in it.

I am even happier about this scarf than I would normally be because of the yarn I am using to knit it. Years ago, in a bit of a mood after Rob and I had had a bit of a fight, I went to my LYS and impulsively decided to buy a skein of the most beautiful silk lace-weight yarn I have ever seen. This purchase was severely pre-mature because I hadn’t ever attempted any lace knitting at the time – especially with yarn this nice and this thin. But the colors were amazing (the sweetest blend of pastel blue, lavender and soft, soft yellow) and I was in just enough of a huff to be impractical so it came home with me. I have tried a million times over the years to use this yarn but I never found the right project and I hadn’t matured enough as a knitter to do it justice.

Today, as I listen to the wind race outside my window, I am knitting a little pastel butterfly and feeling pretty good that this beautiful yarn and I are finally coming together with the right project at the right time. It will take a while to finish because the gauge of the yarn is really fine but by  the time the Spring sunshine returns to Long Island, I should have the perfect scarf to wear as I go outside to enjoy it.

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Crafts, Knitting, Thoughts and Musings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Spring in the face of winter

  1. Reading this made me smile and feel warm inside. 🙂

Leave a Reply

