Playlist – How I Go by Yellowcard

How I Go by Yellowcard

I could tell you the wildest of tales
Of my friend the giant and traveling sales
Tell you all the times that I failed
The years all behind me, the stories exhaled
And I’m drying out, crying out
This isn’t how I go
I could tell you of a man not so tall
Who said, “life’s a circus, and so we are small”
Tell you of a girl that I saw
I froze in the moment and she changed it all
And I’m drying out, crying out
This isn’t how I go
Hurry now, lay me down
And let these waters flow
Son, I am not everything you though that I would be
But every story I have told is part of me

One of the reasons, I love this song so much is that it is inspired by the relationship between two characters from one of my favorite movies, Big Fish. The film explores the tension between a father and son as the father lays dying. The son desperately wants to know and understand his father before it is too late but the father has always been a story-teller, a larger than life figure whose tall tales and jokes gets in the way of real intimacy. It’s a great film, based on a great book (Big Fish by Daniel Wallace) and the song really hits the emotional core of it.

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Films and TV, Music, Playlist and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

