Book Review – The Outlaws of Sherwood by Robin McKinley

The Outlaws of SherwoodThe Outlaws of Sherwood by Robin McKinley

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Sometimes it seems as if every fantasy, historic fiction and young adult novelist feels the need to write at least one Robin Hood story over the course of their career which, unfortunately, floods library shelves with tons of books that are forgettable or downright awful. It’s particularly hard on readers like me who love tales of Robin Hood, Maid Marian, Little John, Will Scarlett and the rest of the “merry men” because we have to sift though all the not-so-great offerings to find the books that are worth reading and that treat our favorite characters with love and respect.

Having said that, The Outlaws of Sherwood by Robin McKinley is one of the shining examples of a Robin Hood book done right. In fact, I have never found another Robin Hood book that even comes close to it. The author does an incredible job of fleshing out the characters and of balancing a realistic portrayal of the story with the growing myth that it became.

View all my reviews

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Books, Literature and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Book Review – The Outlaws of Sherwood by Robin McKinley

  1. Pretty great post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I’ve really enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. After all I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I’m hoping you write once more very soon!

Leave a Reply

