Gearing Up

Things have been really slow lately. At first, it was nice to catch my breath after finals and the chaos of the holidays but all this free time is starting to wear on me a bit. It’s weird to feel this bored since there is a lot of stuff coming up on the horizon. I guess I what I am feeling is somewhat similar to being on a roller coaster when it starts slowly going up the big hill. You know that once you reach the top, stuff is going to start happening and it will happen a lot faster than you are comfortable with but for now, all you are doing is waiting to get to the top. (Not that I go on roller coasters, being a complete chicken with issues with heights, motion sickness and going too fast, but still….) Anyway, since I am home alone while Rob is working late tonight and there is only so much reading and knitting one person can do before they need to get more yarn and books, I thought I would pop on here and mention some of the things that will be happening in the next few weeks.

School:
The spring semester is starting up on the 23rd. I am not sure what classes I am taking since I am still in the process of finalizing my registration but I am hoping to take a poetry class, a class on contemporary literature and a class on global contemporary literature. Hopefully, I will be able to get everything squared away tomorrow and be all set for the first day of classes. The poetry class, incidentally the one I most want to take, was full until yesterday when four seats opened up according to the online registration system. I am hoping at least one of those seats will still be open when I go up to the registrar tomorrow. Wish me luck.

Godspell / Metropolitan Museum of Art Trip:
I must have been very good this year because Santa was very nice to me this Christmas. My folks got Rob and I tickets to see Godspell on Broadway. Godspell is one of my all-time favorite plays and the only one out of my list of favorites that I haven’t already seen on Broadway. I have seen a high school production of it and I own the movie version with Victor Garber but I have always wanted to see it on Broadway. In case you were wondering, my other favorite plays are Rent (which I saw on Broadway 5 times, Les Mis (3 times), Into the Woods (1 time), and Man of La Mancha (1 time).

The play is in the evening so Rob and I are planning on making a day of it in the city. He got me a membership to the Metropolitan Museum of Art so we are going to go in, spend the day at the museum, go out to dinner and then to the play. It should be an incredible day and I am pretty excited about it.

Drop Spinning Class:
Then two days after our day in the city, I get to try out another one of my Christmas gifts. Rob bought me a drop spindle and signed me up for a class on how to use it at one of the local yarn shops.

Guitar Class:
And then the day after that, Rob and I are scheduled to take our first acoustic guitar class together. I have missed playing an instrument ever since I had to quite playing the violin and I have always wanted to know how to play the guitar (just like my mom and her siblings). Plus it will be a lot of fun to have another hobby that I can share with Rob. I love spending time with him and doing cool things and this definitely qualifies.

Etsy Store:
I am strongly considering starting an Etsy store where I can sell knitted items, handmade jewelry and prints of some of my photos. I am still in the planning stages, setting everything up and figuring out some of the logistics but in the meanwhile, I have been building up an inventory of things I can sell. If this is something you might be interested in, check back here for news and announcements.

Well, that’s about it for me. I wish there was more to talk about but things are pretty boring right now. Still, in 2-3 weeks when I’ve reached the top of the roller coaster and things are picking up speed, I am sure that I will look back at this time when I had some breathing room and laugh at myself for complaining about being bored.

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Crafts, Hobby Stuff, Knitting, Making Music, Museums / Monuments, Music, Plays and Musicals, School Stuff, Spinning, What's Up With Ciarrai and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

