Book Review: Hard Times Require Furious Dancing by Alice Walker

Hard Times Require Furious Dancing: New PoemsHard Times Require Furious Dancing: New Poems by Alice Walker

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Although I had read (and loved) The Color Purple, I never read any of Alice Walker’s poetry until I came upon Hard Times Require Furious Dancing in a local bookstore. I am a sucker for a good title and this one caught my eye. I was also intrigued by the beautiful illustrations on the cover and scattered throughout the book. Although, I do not have many poetry books in my personal library (although I am sure that is going to change in the near future), I knew, after a quick skim of some of the poems, that I needed to bring this book home. I strongly recommend poems like: “We Pay a Visit to Those Who Play At Being Dead,” “Some Lovers,” “I Will Keep Broken Things,” and “Calling All Grand Mothers.” I personally enjoyed this collection very much and look forward to reading more of Alice’s poetry in the future.

View all my reviews

I Will Not Deny
By Alice Walker

I will not deny
my lips
their smile
I will not deny
my heart
its sorrow
I will not deny
my eyes
their tears
I will not deny
my hair
the wildness
of my age

It is
profound
selfishness

I will deny
me nothing
of myself.

 

To a Relative
By Alice Walker

This is all
your cruelty
to me
really
means:

We are
from different
stars

 

Even So
By Alice Walker

Love, if it is love, never goes away.
It is embedded in us,
like seams of gold in the Earth,
waiting for light,
waiting to be struck

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Literature, Poems and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

