A Long Overdue Post – Part I The Metropolitan Museum of Art

Things have been a little busy lately. School has started. I have been working as a mother’s helper for a friend of a friend and have been helping to take care of three young boys while their mother is in Egypt. And there has been lots of little things that have come up which takes up a surprising amount of time so posting to Celtic Knits has been a bit sporadic. Sorry about that. But the good news is that I have a free day today. Nothing is planned. Nothing is scheduled. And it is snowing which means that I have no motivation to leave my house today. All this means that I can finally get around to writing up the posts that I have been meaning to write. Yay! 

Rob and Kerry’s NYC Adventure:
My Christmas present from my folks this year was two tickets to see the revival of Godspell on Broadway. Godspell is one of my all time favorite musicals and the only one that I haven’t been able to see live on Broadway (although I had seen local productions and I own the DVD of the movie version with Victor Garber). And one of my Christmas presents from Rob was a membership to the Metropolitan Museum of Art so Rob and I decided to spend the day at the museum, then go out for a nice dinner and then go see the show.

The Metropolitan Museum of Art
The time we spent at the Met was amazing!! We have decided that we want to really take advantage of the membership and use it to see the entire museum before the year is up so we decided to focus our attention on galleries and exhibits that we hadn’t seen before.

African Heroes Exhibit
We spent a lot of time viewing the African Heroes exhibit which was incredible. There was no photography allowed or I would have a TON of pictures to show you of this collection. The collection was a series of busts, statues and photographs of African heroes and leaders. My favorite pieces were these terra-cotta heads. They had such character to them and it was fascinating to see how they varied from culture to culture but my favorite thing about them was just how much texture they had. The artists did a lot to suggest the hair-styles, the jewelry, the textiles that their subjects were wearing and it was just so cool to see. There were also these carved figures made out of wood that caught my attention. The wood on a couple of them had started to rot, really blurring the line between the tree that they were made of and the figure that they became. It was sort elemental to see a man emerging from a dying tree. Really cool stuff. I am disappointed that this was a temporary exhibit and that I can’t go back and re-visit it but I am so glad that we got to see it while it was there.

Arts of Africa, Oceania, and the Americas
After we finished with the African Heroes exhibit, we moved on to the Arts of Africa, Oceania, and the Americas. Neither of us had seen this gallery before but believe me, we will be spending more time there in the future. We didn’t get to see everything there was but we saw was really cool. There were these wild headdresses and masks. Some of them were so elaborate and so big that you wonder how someone wore that without breaking their necks! I didn’t get a lot of good photos due to some camera issues (more on that later) but I did get this one that I am rather fond of.

Detail of African Mask

We didn’t get to see everything there was in this area (more reason to go back and explore some more!) but we got a bit distracted by somethings that weren’t on our agenda.

Salvador Dali’s Crucifixion
At one point we made a wrong turn and ended up leaving the Oceania section and coming face to face with Salvador Dali’s Cubist Crucifixion painting. We weren’t expecting it but there it was and it was incredible to see. It is one of Rob’s favorite pieces of art and the time we spent looking at it and talking about it was one of the highlights of the day.  

Fabergé Exhibit
Soon after our accidental encounter with Dali, we also unintentionally wandered into the Met’s Fabergé Exhibit. That’s where I discovered my favorite piece of the day. The Fabergé Lily of the Valley:

the Fabergé Lily of the Valley

 I ADORE lily of the valley. It’s my favorite flower. And this piece, made of pearls and diamonds, gold and enamel was just amazing to see in person. This picture does not BEGIN to do it justice. It was seriously gorgeous and if we had seen nothing else, seeing this alone would have been worth the trip.

Camera Issues
The only downside to the trip was our camera. We bought our niece, K, a Nikon Coolpix camera for Christmas but it turned out that the camera was defective and that the buttons didn’t always work. At the time, Rob and I were considering picking up a point and click camera for those times when lugging my Nikon D40 and all the DSLR gear would be inconvenient. We wanted something small, compact and easy to tote around for casual photos. Plus we really didn’t want K to have to wait for the camera to get fixed and sent back so we bought K another camera, and adopted her broken one (which was still under warranty) as our point and click. We sent it back to Nikon, they allegedly fixed it and sent it back. We decided, since there was no way I was going to be allowed to bring my D40 into the theater and I didn’t want to leave it in a cold car parked in a public garage, to leave the big camera home and bring the coolpix for museum shots. However, halfway through our day at the museum, we realized that it was having the same exact problem and the buttons weren’t working, which meant we couldn’t change settings or even take shots as the day went on. Very annoyed. 

The good news is that we had a blast visiting the museum and want to go back fairly often and explore some more. And next time, I will know to bring my D40.  

 

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Events / Places to Go, Museums / Monuments, Photography, Plays and Musicals, Still Life / Objects, What's Up With Ciarrai and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Long Overdue Post – Part I The Metropolitan Museum of Art

  1. Pingback: A Long Overdue Post – Part II – Godspell | Celtic Knits

Leave a Reply

