A Long Overdue Post – Part II – Godspell

After an awesome day at the Metropolitan Museum of Art and a nice dinner, Rob and I headed off to The Circle in the Square Theatre to see Godspell.

It was an incredibly cool theater, small with seating all around the stage.  There was a piano partially submerged into the stage and a little booth up on one wall where the drummer was but otherwise the pit musicians were scattered in the audience and there were a lot of times when the actors were running about in the aisles or pulling people up on stage giving the whole thing a very inclusive feeling. We had front row seats but there were these areas in front of us right up against the stage where people could sit on pillows on the floor. We promptly dubbed these areas the “pillow pits” and there were four different pillow pits where people sat on each side of the stage. Rob and I discussed trying to get pillow pit seats next time but I have a sneaking suspicion that I would not be able to resist the urge to start a pillow fight war with the people in the next pit over (before the show of course or during intermission but still…) and that would probably get us in trouble.

Like I said, the theater is tiny and the audience is all around the stage so there is no such thing as a bad seat. Although, our seat was a bit interesting because we were partially behind the piano. It wasn’t a big deal because with the exception of one or two things, we could still see everything and it was fascinating to see some of the things that were happening where the piano player sat. Plus many of the actors would dance on top of the piano and that was fun to watch up close.

The play itself was a bit different from I had expected, it was a bit updated with pop culture references and stuff, but was amazing. There was next to no scenery – it would have blocked some of the audience if they had had anything – but the stage itself was set up with these trap doors that could be opened to reveal a baptism font (with water falling from the ceiling) or trampolines that were incorporated into the dance number for We Beseech Thee. At one point, they shot off confetti canons into the audience. Rob and I are still finding bits and pieces of confetti that got caught in our clothing, my purse, etc. The whole thing was so much fun!  We had a blast and I want to go see it again!!!!

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Plays and Musicals, What's Up With Ciarrai and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Long Overdue Post – Part II – Godspell

  1. Pingback: Can’t Wait… |

  2. Pingback: Checking in |

Leave a Reply

