What Else Is New

Sorry about there being so many posts today but this is the downside to finally getting around to posting after a couple of weeks of being too busy – stuff piles up.  This is my last post for the day (and knowing my schedule for the next week it might be the last post for a while).

School:
So the semester is in full swing. I am not particularly worried about either class (The Art of Poetry and Contemporary Literature). Maybe it’s because I am so much older than most of my classmates, maybe its just that I am used to taking higher level courses than Suffolk offers but I am not feeling especially challenged this semester. Not that the material is boring or anything. The poems and books we are reading are great but the classroom discussions are a little anemic. In my poetry class, we seem to be having some issues with vocabulary and I am the one that the other students turn to to define such words as scruples, illicit and portentous. I don’t pretend to know the meaning of every word in the English language but it is frustrating that my classmates don’t look up the words that they are having trouble with when they read the poem at home instead of waiting for the professor or myself to spoon-feed it them. I don’t know. Maybe that kind of initiative and independence comes with age and maturity but it does slow down the  pace of the class considerably which can be a bit frustrating. Oh well. At least I enjoy the literature itself (even if we could be reading more of it if people actually did their homework) and it’s not a bad thing to be confident that you will get an A in the course. It just feels like it is going to be  a long semester. I am hoping to get my affairs in order enough to start my grad school program next semester but if I have to spend another semester catching up on pre-reqs, I think I need to go to Stony Brook or another four-year school so I could take a more advanced class or two. I thrive on challenge and debate and I am not finding it here. *sigh*

Guitar Class:
Rob and I have started taking guitar lessons. I have always wanted to play the guitar (ever since I was a little girl watching my mom and her siblings play their guitar). I played violin for years but developed some joint problems in my wrists and had to stop. I am concerned about my wrists (which remain a problem even years after I stopped playing the violin) but I am keeping my fingers crossed that I can make it work since I have really missed playing an instrument. We have only had one class but so far, so good.

My mom gave Rob an electric guitar that she had bought for herself but never really played. We come from a family that believes every musical instrument has a personality and a name. The electric guitar didn’t have a name yet so Rob got to give it one. He named it Benjamin. When asked why, he told me that it made him feel like a rock star to play that guitar and when he thinks of rocks, he thinks of the Thing from the Fantastic Four and so he named it Benjamin after Ben Grimm (aka The Thing). It probably doesn’t hurt that the guitar was orange and extremely heavy (which also makes us think of the Thing). Anyway, the look on his face as he was explaining all this to me was just so adorable!!!! Just one more of the many, many reasons I love my husband!

Misc. Stuff:
Remember the cabled socks that I made for my aunt who is recovering from hip surgery? I really coveted those socks after I finished making them. They looked so soft and warm and they were exactly my size.  But I love my aunt and I don’t want to be the type of person who steals get-well-soon socks from people recovering from surgery. So the only thing to do was to go get more yarn and make a pair for myself. I decided that these were going to be my Valentine’s Day socks and picked out the prettiest pink alpaca yarn but then I  realized that I didn’t have a single outfit that matched these socks. There was a shirt I thought would match but it was a completely wrong shade of pink. So I got to do a little mini shopping spree and pick up some much-needed clothing. Yay! I got a couple of outfits, including jeans that are three sizes smaller than the ones I have been wearing (or at least that I have been attempting to wear). Go me!

Neither Rob or I are going to be around on Valentine’s Day. Between working and my night class, it just wasn’t going to work out so we rescheduled the holiday to a day when we were both going to be home. We went out to Robinson’s Tea Room and had the high tea (three tiers of little finger sandwiches, scones and pastries). We got a little adventurous with our tea selections. Instead of sticking with our usual Darjeeling and Earl Grey, we tried the Buckingham Palace tea, the French Crème Brule tea and some tea that was a blend of coconut, kiwi and strawberry. The Buckingham Palace seemed to be the hit while the other two were good but not something we would try again. It was such a fun afternoon, talking about books and music and enjoying each other’s company. We found out that the tea room does a candlelight tea for the holidays. We were too late to sign up for the Valentine’s Day candlelight tea but we found out when they start accepting reservations for the Christmas season candlelight tea and we are definitely planning on doing that.

We spent the rest of the day hanging out. We did a little shopping and then just hung out and spent time together.  Crabtree and Evelyn and Rumpelstiltskin Yarn shop is right next to the tea room and I got some yummy smelling hand lotions and some more sock yarn to make another pair of socks to go with one of my new outfits. (See how that works? I make socks that require me to buy more clothes and then I buy clothes and I have to make another pair of socks to go with them. It’s a vicious cycle!) We also ran to Lanie’s Way, looking for a kite tail that Rob wanted for one of his kites but they were out of them. While we were there, we discovered a board game called Katamino that I quickly became fascinated with. It’s sort of the non-electronic version of Tetris (the greatest video game in the world!). I got to play with it a little while we were in the store and I am hooked. We definitely need to get a copy of this game sometime soon. All in all, it was a very fun, very laid back Valentine’s Day. It was great to get to spend so much time with my sweetie!

So, now I am all caught up on my blogging and I should go and get some homework done for my Monday morning class. Hope you are all having a great weekend. TTYS!

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Crafts, Gaming Stuff, Hobby Stuff, Knitting, Making Music, Music, Reasons Why I Love My Husband, School Stuff, What's Up With Ciarrai and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

