A Good Day

Rob and I have been taking guitar lessons and although we are complete beginners and can’t play very well yet, we are enjoying them a lot. For the most part, we have been working on skill building exercises and haven’t learned any songs yet but our teacher announced that he was going to start us on our first song today – Pachelbel Canon in D.

I am extremely excited to be playing an actual song (rather than just scales and exercises) but I am even more excited to be playing this song. I have a long history with Canon in D.  I played it a lot back when I was a violinist and it was also the song playing as I walked down the aisle at my wedding so it has a lot of sentimental value to me. We were warned that it is going to take a long time before we can make it sound like real music because we are such beginners but I think I am going to enjoy the process.

I might have to switch which guitar I am playing. The acoustic that Rob bought me for my birthday a few years back is a bit big for me and the action is a bit hard on my wrists. Whatever I did to my wrists back when I was a violinist still causes me pain (how much varies depending on a lot of different circumstances) and I have some limitations in how it will move and bend. I am really hoping that it doesn’t limit me too much in playing the guitar but moving to the smaller acoustic that my mom used to play might make things easier on me. I don’t know. We will have to see how that plays out.

After guitar lessons, Rob and I ran to the yarn store. I have been working on a Breast Cancer Awareness scarf (pink alpaca with a lace motif of the awareness ribbon on each end of scarf). One of my mom’s friends runs a charity auction to raise money for Breast Cancer research and I promised I would make something to auction off. This scarf will be my contribution but I had run out of yarn and needed some more. While I was there I also picked up a little more alpaca yarn (can you tell that I really like alpaca yarn – it’s so yummy) to make another pair of cabled socks. My Aunt Kathy fell in love with the pair of get-well-soon cabled socks I made for my Aunt Sharon so I want to make a pair for her. I am not sure if they will be birthday socks or Christmas socks but I have a half of a skein left from the last pair I made and wanted to get more while I could still find yarn in the right dye lot.

After we finished at the yarn shop, we decided to get some lunch at the Brickhouse Brewery. When we got there, we found a really good Irish music band rocking out in the bar area. We couldn’t get seats in the packed bar where we could see them but the dining area was close enough that we got to hear some really good music and I kept sneaking out to the bar area to check out the bar in person.

So all in all – between the guitar lessons, buying yarn, eating yummy food and listening to really good live Irish music – it’s been a great day.

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Crafts, Hobby Stuff, Knitting, Making Music, Music, What's Up With Ciarrai and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

