A funny moment in class.

Sorry to have been so quiet the last few weeks but it’s midterms / paper season and that takes up a lot of my time and bandwidth. I’ve been experiencing some frustration with one of my classes (I will spare you the details – since discussing them tends to get drawn out and cranky) but there was this one recent moment that made me smile so I thought I would share it here.

I’m in my evening class, which meets once a week from 3 hours when a student comes in (just about a minute after class had begun and the professor had begun speaking). He came in quickly and sat down quietly at the nearest desk, obviously trying not to be disruptive. The professor frowns at the student and stops lecturing to have this little exchange:

Professor (to the student who just entered): You know that this is <insert the name of the course here>, right?
Student: yes.
Professor: You meant to come to this class?
Student (looking a little weirded out): yes.
Professor: It’s just that the class has been meeting for over a month now and I’ve never seen you before.
Student (pointing to another desk): I usually sit over there
Professor: Nope, I still don’t recognize you.
Student: I’m wearing my glasses today.
Professor: Oh yeah!

I swear to you that all I could think of while watching this, was “Wow! My class is being taught by Lois Lane!”

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in School Stuff, What's Up With Ciarrai and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

