Funny Moments with Broadway Musical

My hubby and I just figured out that Sara Ramirez (who plays Callie Torres on Grey’s Anatomy) is the same woman who originated the role of the Lady of the Lake in Spamalot and that there is a very good chance that we saw her perform when we saw the show a few years back. (I know we saw Tim Curry as Arthur and David Hyde Pierce as Robin but would have to check the playbill to confirm who was playing the Lady of the Lake).

This has started quite a few impromptu singalongs of “Find Your Grail” and “The Song That Goes Like This” around our house the last two days. And then somehow, we shifted into singing songs from The Producers (Now Ula Belt “If you GOT IT, FLAUNT IT”).

All in all, this reminded me of a cute story from back in the days when I worked as an executive assistant. I had this boss who kept asking me to book a bunch of trips to Germany in March, April and May. And I kept joking that every time I planned one of those trips, I would get “Springtime for Hitler” (from the Producers stuck in my head). It got to be a running joke that I would find some Broadway show for each place he had to travel to (France was a mixture of Phantom of the Opera and Les Miz, England was an odd combination of Oliver and Sweeny Todd, etc.)

One day my boss came up to me and asked me to book another trip for him. I jokingly told him that I refused to book any trips for anymore places associated with Broadway shows because I couldn’t take getting the songs stuck in my head. He smiled and reassured me that this time he was going someplace  that didn’t have a Broadway show. “Great! Where do you need to go?” I asked.  “Chicago” he replied.

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Music, Plays and Musicals, Uncategorized, Work Stuff and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Funny Moments with Broadway Musical

  1. Pingback: Music on my mind… |

Leave a Reply

