Music on my mind…

Music is such a huge part of my mental processes and that occasionally expresses itself in odd ways. As I mentioned before, I can get songs stuck in my head at the drop of a hat. Today, I had a discussion with someone in my poetry class about William Shakespeare and I’ve been haunted by songs from Kiss Me Kate ever since.  (Brush up your Shakespeare, Start quoting him now. Brush up your Shakespeare and the women you will wow. Just declaim a few lines from “Othella” And they think you’re a heckuva fella.)

For the most part, this little mental quirk is harmless if sometimes annoying but it has been known to get me in trouble. I had this job interview once where I was talking about these presentations that my former boss would ask me to make for him in PowerPoint. He really loved having every whistle and bell that he could get in his presentations. He wanted text to come flying in, do a little dance, change colors and fly out again. But he was awful at using the computer so he would write-up little mock-ups on paper with arrows and notes explaining what he wanted and ask me to implement it in PowerPoint.

Everything was going great in my interview until I got to part of the story about the paper mock-ups. Without realizing it, I started describing them as “8×10 color glossy photographs with circles and arrows and a paragraph on the back of each one explaining what each one was ….” It was just as I was about to say “to be used as evidence against me” that I realized I was quoting Alice’s Restaurant and that the interviewer was giving me the oddest look. “Was that Arlo Guthrie?” she asked. “Yes” I answered, embarrassed.  “I thought so” she replied. The weird thing is – I got the job.

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Music, Thoughts and Musings, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

