Another Christmas Present Done / Dolly Face Lift

I haven’t had much time lately to sit and knit. School deadlines have been conspiring to keep me stressed out and otherwise occupied but the good news is that today, I had a little free time and I could use it to knit. I decided that it would be the perfect time to work on a work in progress that has been waiting for me to come along and  finish it. A few months back, I found this pattern for a sleepy cuddly little baby doll that I thought would perfect Christmas gifts for my 2-year-old niece, Julianna and her 2-year-old cousin, Sarah.

I made Julianna’s dolly back in Feb. but wasn’t 100% happy with how the embroidery on the dolly’s face looked. The eyes were really harsh and severe – not the look I was going for but I didn’t know how to fix it and after several attempts to do better, I gave up.

I finished Sarah’s doll today and I think I got the knack of how to make the eyes so I pulled out Julianna’s dolly and managed to fix it so that the poor little thing didn’t look so angry. 

Here’s Julianna’s Doll (the original version)

Sleepy Dolly - Julianna 2/12

And here’s Julianna’s Doll (with the face redone – softer color yarn, wider, shorter shape to the V’s that form her eyes – I feel much better.)

Sleepy Dolly - Julianna (3/12)

Here’s Sarah’s Doll:

Sleepy Dolly - Sarah (3/12)

And here they are: two cuddly little dolly friends.

Sleepy Dolly Friends - Sarah and Julianna

I made each girl a cute little roll top brim hat that coordinates with their dolly and now the plan is that we will pick up two doll bottles (the kind where the milk disappears when you tilt it) and I will knit two little dolly Moses baskets and some bedding ( a little mattress, pillow and blanket in pink and blue). I really wish I could have started working on those already but I ran out of yarn and had to order some more so I am in a holding pattern for now. Still, I think once all the pieces have been assembled, we will have two cute little gift sets and that the girls will really enjoy cuddling their babies and then giving them a bottle and tucking them in for a nap.

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Christmas Crafting, Crafts, Finished Objects, Knitting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

