A Question of Morality….

I am a happily married woman and until yesterday I have been a good and faithful wife. But yesterday, I found myself in the grips of a covetous lust of such Biblical proportions that I need to ask: does it count as adultery if the object of your illicit passion is a skein of yarn? Just kidding.

Seriously, yesterday I went to my LYS and discovered Louise Harding’s Sari Ribbon Yarn . It is ridiculously gorgeous!!!  It is very similar to the Yoga yarn that I have used in the past and was heart-broken over when it was discontinued but it is even better and has more than consoled me about the loss of my late, lamented Yoga yarn.  For example both yarns have a glint of a metallic fiber to give them a bit of sparkle, but the Sari Ribbon is MUCH softer and less scratchy than the Yoga was.

The Sari Ribbon comes in some really GORGEOUS colors and believe me, I want them all but  I could only afford one this time around so I picked up a skein of the dew color scheme (with such soft blues and greens with sandy tan accents). The colors remind me of a Monet painting – so soft and lovely. I am making a basic drop stitch scarf out of it and the way the drop stitches lie and move, it is just sparking so much inspiration in me. I look at what I am knitting and it makes me think of Orphelia from Hamlet – pulled into a river with her herbs and flowers floating around her.  

There’s rosemary, that’s for remembrance; pray,
love, remember: and there is pansies. that’s for thoughts.
There’s fennel for you, and columbines: there’s rue
for you; and here’s some for me: we may call it
herb-grace o’ Sundays: O you must wear your rue with
a difference. There’s a daisy: I would give you
some violets, but they withered all when my father
died: they say he made a good end,–

When down her weedy trophies and herself
Fell in the weeping brook. Her clothes spread wide;
And, mermaid-like, awhile they bore her up:
Which time she chanted snatches of old tunes;
As one incapable of her own distress,
Or like a creature native and indued
Unto that element…

I want to get some crystal and maybe even some silver charms of flowers and leaves and put it all together with this yarn to make an Orphelia themed scarf or necklace. If I can pull off what is in my head, it will be gorgeous!!!

 

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Crafts, Knitting, Literature, Thoughts and Musings and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Question of Morality….

  1. Pingback: Yarn Crush Scarves |

Leave a Reply

