Yarn Crush Scarves

Remember how I mentioned a new yarn I found at my lys (local yarn shop) that I had developed rather strong feelings for? Well, my unending crush on Louise Harding’s Sari Ribbon yarn rages on.

When I first discovered this yarn, I cast on immediately to make a pretty drop stitch scarf that went perfectly with this one outfit I had. I hoped to finish it in time for me to wear it to a party that I was going to later that week but when it was time for the party, it was still a little short. I took it with me anyway and knit on it while I chatted with friends at the party. I love knitting in public because people will strike up a conversation about knitting and what you are making. At a party where you don’t know everyone, it is nice to have a bit of a conversation starter. But that is nothing compared with the comments you get when people watch you finish making your fabulous scarf and it goes immediately from your needles to around your neck, completing your outfit perfectly. (I will post some photos eventually if I can get to an environment where I can take a photo that does justice to the colors in this lovely yarn).

Later that week, I went back to the LYS. Guess what is better than going to your lys and discovering a new yarn that you love. Going to your lys and discovering that the object of your knitterly passion is on sale!  I ended up getting two more skeins – one in various shades of blue and silver and one in shades of pink, purple and peach.  *does a little dance of yarn acquisition happiness* I’ve already made two more drop stitch scarves.

The pink / purple skein was causing all sorts of flashbacks to my childhood toy box. It looks like someone took every My Little Pony toy and blended it with the fabric from the clothes on my Jem and the Holograms dolls. (Truly, Truly Outrageous!) If you could make this yarn smell like strawberries and / or baby powder like Strawberry Shortcake or Cabbage Patch Dolls, it would perfectly sum up what it was like to grow up in the 80’s.

Fortunately, it gets a little less Mattel-esque if you knit it up. The colors blend better together and by the time I finished the scarf, I realized that it would be perfect as a Christmas gift for my Aunt Debbie. This means I am about halfway done with Christmas crafting and it is only March! *does a little dance of I-don’t-have-t0-go-to-the-mall-this-December*

Drop Stitch Scarf - Aunt Debbie (3/12)

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Christmas Crafting, Crafts, Finished Objects, Knitting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

