An Insanely Busy Weekend.

Last weekend, before I got sick, I was extremely busy.

Friday Night – Rob and I went to I-CON, a science fiction convention that we used to volunteer for. Initially, Rob and I weren’t planning on going to this year’s convention. We had a bunch of family obligations happening that weekend and really couldn’t spare the time. But then we found out that my friend, Marc Gunn, was going to be there. Marc is an incredibly fun and talented Celtic musician and a great guy to hang out with so I always try to catch up with him when he is town.  We rearranged things so we could spend some time with him and see his Friday night show. We also enjoyed bumping into some friends that  we knew from our days on the con staff.

We really didn’t get to see much or do much beyond seeing Marc but I had a nifty idea for something fun to do the next time I am at a sci-fi convention. Costume bingo. You make up cards beforehand with the name of characters that you may see people dressed up as while walking around the con. (For example, we saw a ton of Dr. Whos, a Darth Vadar, someone dressed as Jayne Cobb from Firefly, some jedis and stormtroopers, some cool steampunk costumes and some renn faire garb. These are all good options for Convention Costume Bingo) Then during the convention, you can cross out a box when you spot and snap a photo of someone in that costume. First one to get bingo wins.  

Speaking of costumes, we saw this girl dressed as the Munchkin game at the con:

Muchkin Girl

I would never have thought to put that costume together but it was really cool!
Saturday – My cousin / best friend, Nikki, and my god-daughter, Katrina, were visiting from NH. My aunt hosted a little gathering so Katrina and her cousins could color Easter eggs and spend some time with each other. I took advantage of the fact that all four of my nieces would be in the same place at the same time and brought over a craft project to do with the girls. Every year, I help the girls make something that they can give to their mothers for Christmas. Mommies work too hard every day to not have something under the tree on Christmas morning. However, its hard to schedule the time to sit down and work on the project (especially with one niece in NH) and so I really have to plan in advance and take my opportunities when they present themselves.  

This year’s project was to string big wooden beads onto yarn to make necklaces. My oldest niece, K., is much older than the other girls so she was my assistant for the craft and helped  me help the 3-year-old, the 5-year-old and the 6-year-old make their necklaces.  We will do a project that is more age appropriate with her later on in the year. My 3-year-old niece, Ellie, really had the most fun. She made the necklace she is going to give her mother for Christmas and then kept going, making a bunch more. She even made one for Daddy who was a very good sport and wore his necklace long enough to take a picture with her.

Sunday – We were really overbooked on Sunday. I had a bridal shower to welcome my new cousin, Samantha, into the family and my nephew, KC’s 4th birthday scheduled for the same time. Rob and I divided and conquered. I went to the shower. He went to Chuck E. Cheese for the birthday party.

I had a lovely time at the shower. Nikki and I even won one of the insane little party games they did. We were handed a roll of toilet paper and told to use it to decorate someone at our table as a bride in 2 minutes. We somehow conned my 6-year-old god-daughter into being the bride and went to town. We made her a dress (with a train), a veil, a bouquet, a garter, the works. It was surprisingly fun.

After the shower, I headed over to my sister in law’s house to see the birthday boy. KC has become obsessed with superheroes and so Uncle Rob and I bought him an Iron Man mask to wear and a Captain American Mask (with a little Captain American shield made out of a frisbee). He loved it and instantly put on the Captain mask and shield. In fact, from what I hear, he insisted on wearing them on Easter morning too.

Then after birthday celebrations, we headed back to hang out with Nikki and play a bunch of board games. We played Settlers of Catan, Carcassonne and Apples to Apples, three of my favorite games, before going home and collapsing. I seriously don’t think I could have fit one more thing into the weekend. It was insanely busy but lots of fun.

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Christmas Crafting, Conventions, Crafts, Events / Places to Go, Friends and Family Stuff, Gaming Stuff, What's Up With Ciarrai and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

