Rocking Out at Rob’s Birthday Party

I was supposed to be writing a paper and studying today but who am I kidding? I am so fried from everything that has been going on lately (planning and running Rob’s party), writing papers, getting sick, dealing with family emergencies and the dramas that go hand in hand with them that I am just not going to be able to focus on the schoolwork I was planning to do today. I think I will actually do better on it if I actually just allow myself to take today and mentally regroup.  So since I am taking a break, I might as well write about the birthday party we had for my hubby, Rob, yesterday.

Rob had asked for a Rock Band themed birthday party and that is what I threw for him. We rented a hall and prepared to lug over a ton of food, our TV, Xbox and all of Rob’s Rock Band instruments. We were hoping to have the day before the party to do all the set up, particularly since we were supposed to go kite flying with all the nieces and nephews before the party (Rob really loves flying kites and the kids always have a good time flying kites with him) but it turned out that there was an event there the night before so we had to get everything done the day of our party. In addition to this, we had some troubles with the oven at the hall so we couldn’t heat up the food we were serving until Rob’s sister, Lynda, got there and helped us figure the thing out. (Thanks Lynda!).  So I was a little more frantic getting set up than I would have preferred. Fortunately (for me, if not for the people who were looking forward to flying kites), it rained pretty hard and we had to push back the kite flying to another day. This gave me an extra 2 hours to get things ready. I am not sure I would have made it otherwise.

The party was fun. People really got into playing the Rock Band game and seemed to be having a good time. We didn’t get to play as much as we planned since our Xbox started giving us problems *sigh* and wouldn’t play a lot of the songs we had picked out but at least we got some time to play and sing Beatles songs. 

Rob’s a great uncle and his parties are always geared so that the nieces and nephews  can participate and have a great time. This party was no exception and the little ones had a lot of fun rocking out. Aunt Kerry had a lot of fun taking pictures of them rocking out.

Rocking Out at Uncle Rob’s Birthday Party

DSC_6843cropped

Emma and her Daddy Rocking Out:

Lew and Emma Rocking Out

Mother and Daughter Duet:

Mother and Daughter Duet

Joey on Vocals:

Joey on Vocals

KC on Guitar:

KC on Guitar

KC and Joey Rocking Out:

KC and Joey Rocking Out

KC on Drums

KC on Drums

So thanks to everyone who came out and celebrated Rob’s birthday with us (despite the fact that it was raining so hard). An extra special thank you to those who helped us break down after the party. You Rock!

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Friends and Family Stuff, Music, What's Up With Ciarrai and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

