Nifty Libraries / Book Sculptures

I finally finished my paper, comparing Poe’s “The Raven” with Keats’ “Ode to a Nightingale” with a little Auden’s “Musee des Beaux Arts” thrown in for fun. (It seemed appropriate in a paper about the experience of human suffering in poems featuring birds to include a shout out to a poem that begins “About suffering they were never wrong, The old Masters: how well they understood Its human position” and then goes on to discuss the fall of Icarus)  

But as happy as I am to get this paper done, I really don’t get much time to relax because I have another one due on Tuesday and I haven’t finished reading the book that I am supposed to be writing about. I really fell behind by being as sick as I was for as long as I was and with the semester coming to an end in a few weeks, I don’t have a lot of time to catch up. *sigh* It’s a good thing that I am a fast reader but I thought I could use a little extra time (considering that I have a couple of obligations in the next couple of days that will cut into the time I have to work on everything) so I got up early this morning to make some progress.

So what am I am doing typing here instead of reading my school assignment? Good question. The truth is that I came across some really cool things that I wanted to share with you guys and I thought I would take a few moments before diving back into my work. (How I could have possibly come across these things while I should have been virtuously focusing on my paper and not getting distracted by the internet is something I think we will gloss over for now).

Incredible Library

In my travels, I came across this webpage and have fallen head over heels in LOVE with this room. Seriously, that ceiling! Those windows! My only gripe is that the bookshelves are way to high for easy access to the books. I would have moved the windows up and put the shelves underneath them and put some cushions on them to make a cozy window seat to curl up on and read all those books and to enjoy that beautiful scenery.  

I also thought this room was pretty magical:

This typographic sculpture was pretty nifty (although I would love to see it in person and see if there are words being formed or just random letters) as is this sculpture of a literary man.

On that note, I better get back to reading! Talk to you soon!

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Books, Links, Literature, Poems, School Stuff, Stuff You May Like, What's Up With Ciarrai and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

