Stuff and Things

Things have been a bit slow lately. School is over and I don’t have access to a working car so I have been stuck at home a lot more than I would prefer and life has gotten a bit on the boring side. Other than knitting, playing a TON of Ticket to Ride on my iPod (seriously, I am obsessed), and generally poking around on the internet, I really haven’t been doing much of anything worth writing about.

This won’t last long. I have a bunch of stuff looming on the horizon that will keep me busy and out of trouble. I am planning on volunteering with a summer program at one of the local schools. I will also be taking a photography class over the summer. Hopefully, I will learn a lot more of the technical aspects of photography and can stop relying so much on my camera’s automated settings when attempting to take a shot. My family is planning on going to a Long Island Ducks game as part of our Father’s Day celebration. And Rob and I are planning to see a bunch of different plays over the summer, including a production of Into the Woods in Central Park, the Long Island Shakespeare Festival’s production of Macbeth, and the Arena Player’s production of Twelfth Night at the Vanderbilt Mansion. I am also hoping that we will be able to visit the Met again soon (both the main branch and the Cloisters).

 In the meanwhile, I have discovered some cool things online that I thought you may like. bibliophiles may like these book  tables: Version 1, Version 2, Version 3, while old school games may enjoy this coffee table that is also a working Nintendo Controller.

I found these really cool scarves with the text from some of my favorite books on it. Right now, they have Pride and Prejudice and Jane Eyre.

And today I discovered the Unemployed Philosophers Guild. They have a bunch of wacky stuff but I was particularly fascinated by their Little Thinkers dolls (dolls of famous writers, scientists, philosophers, artists, composers and historic figures. (I particularly love the Edgar Allen Poe doll complete with Raven  and the Vincent van Gogh with detachable ear. I also think it is really cool that the composer dolls like Mozart play music).

They also have these adorable finger puppets / magnets  that I am seriously considering collecting. As a former psych major, I am not sure I can pass up this set of Sigmund Freud, Anna Freud and Carl Jung puppets / magnets (complete with their own couch!) and I am totally in love with the little William Shakespeare, Oscar Wilde,  Mark Twain  and Ernest Hemingway. While I don’t think I will be doing many puppet shows, I think these little guys would be adorable on my fridge or on a memo board holding up my papers.

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Books, Gaming Stuff, Literature, Photography, Shopping, Stuff You May Like, What's Up With Ciarrai and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

