Snippets

It has occurred to me that Celtic Knits has been rather heavy on the book reviews and poetry lately. And so, to help address this imbalance, I thought I would write about some (mostly) non-literary things. So here we go:

#1. I really have been dying to get back into jewelry design lately but my beading stash has been completely depleted and there hasn’t been any free money in the household budget to buy all the supplies that I needed. For my birthday, Rob gave me a beading supply shopping spree and I was able to pick out enough supplies to make a couple of things. I haven’t received all the things I ordered yet but I am really excited. I am especially excited because I am branching out into making mixed media jewelry. I have no idea how it will come out because I have never tried anything like this before and I am embarking on it without the help of a class or a teacher but I am hopeful that I will be able to figure it out.  

#2. My family and I went to a ballgame for Father’s Day. It was a lot of fun (even if our team got its backside handed to them) but it led to a bunch of musing about the reason for designated hitters. My theory is that just like people who go to bars and depend on designated drivers, sometimes a batter needs a designated hitter to get them home after they have spent a little too much time with a pitcher. We also figured out a fool-proof way to distinguish which people in the stands were the true baseball fans. All you had to do was wait for a foul ball. If the person was reaching for the ball, especially if they had a glove for just such a possibility, then we were willing to be that they were a fan. If they ducked and covered their heads with their arms (like we did), they were probably not one of the diehards.

#3. When picking poems to post for Father’s Day, I kept coming across Sylvia Plath’s “Daddy.” From the title, it seemed like a good fit but for some reason, I just didn’t think it had the tone that I was going for. 

#4. I was thrilled when Once won EIGHT Tony Awards but my husband, who was planning on getting me tickets to see it, was slightly less thrilled. Every time they won another one, he would cheer but also look a little concerned, that they wouldn’t be any tickets available for shows in the near future.

#5.  I have been thinking a lot about books that have some sort of simpatico with other books. Recently, I reread Sharon Shinn’s Archangel (a review is in the works – it should at least make a nice break from all  the Billy Collins that I have been writing about lately) and it really struck me just how much it has in common with Anne McCaffrey’s Dragonflight. Don’t get me wrong. I am not suggesting that one is a rip-off of the other or anything like that. I love both books (and the series they started) and each author was very successful in creating unique, detailed, and utterly fascinating worlds with great characters. There is just something about the books that links them in my mind. At the very least, I think Lessa and Rachael would have understood each other very well. There is a similar vibe (at least in my mind) between Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist and The Time Traveler’s Wife. Obviously, they are very different books but they still feel similar to me. Just saying.

Anyway, it’s getting late here and I should get off the computer. Night everyone!

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Beading / Jewelry Making, Crafts, Friends and Family Stuff, Literature, Plays and Musicals, Poems, Thoughts and Musings, What's Up With Ciarrai and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

