Look! Beads!

I FINALLY have gotten the opportunity to get back into beading and jewelry design. For my birthday, my hubby treated me to a beading supply shopping spree and I was able to pick up some of the components I needed to make some necklaces. I also started working with resin to make my own mixed media pendants. Here’s what I came up with:

Prufrock Pendant

This pendant features a line from T.S. Eliot’s poem, “The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock” I added an antique spoon handle as a drop. I like that the drop and the pendant sort of suggest a coffee spoon.

I made this as a Christmas gift for my Aunt Kathy. If you aren’t my Aunt Kathy and want to take a peek, feel free to click on the link. If you ARE my Aunt Kathy, we are on the honor system here and I am counting on you to not peek until Christmas.

Knitting Cable Pendant

This necklace is a blending of all my creative hobbies. I took a macro shot of the cabled stitch on a sock I knitted and then took the photo and made this necklace. The photography could be better (little sharper, better exposure in the top corner) but I am happy to see that the basic premise works and I am planning on doing a whole series of macro pendants with different knitting stitches in different yarns and colors.

DSC_7541
I made this as a birthday gift for my mother-in-law.

DSC_7545
And I made this variation with pearls, obsidian beads, and some Swarovski crystal.

Amethyst and Swarovski Crystal Necklace
And lastly, I made this out of a Amethyst focal bead and little accents of Swarovski crystal.

I really enjoyed making jewelry again and I have a ton of ideas that I am looking forward to playing with in the near future.

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Beading / Jewelry Making, Books, Christmas Crafting, Crafts, Finished Objects, Literature and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

