Checking in

Life has been surprisingly busy lately. Usually, I am bored out my mind by this point of my summer vacation but this year I seem to be doing better at keeping myself entertained and out of trouble.

Jewelry Design / Etsy Plans:
I’ve been doing a lot more beading lately, as you can probably tell from all the pictures I have posted in the past few days. A few of the pieces I have made are intended as gifts but I am also making some progress at building up an inventory that I can sell on Etsy when I finally get my shop up and running. The Denim Blue Ceramic necklace / bracelet set , the Amethyst and Crystal Necklace, and the Pearl and Obsidian Necklace with Floral Pendant were all created to be sold on Etsy. So between these pieces (and the scarves and other knit-ware that I have been making) I think I off to a good start. I am hoping to get the store up and running by the end of the summer. Wish me luck. 

Funny Beading Moment:
We will be celebrating my mother-in-law’s birthday this weekend and I wanted to make her a necklace with one of the mixed-media pendants that I have been making lately. I didn’t have time to let the resin cure naturally, so I picked up a toaster oven which I could use to hurry the process along. I was very excited about the whole thing. I had this silly idea that getting a tool that required plugging in was an indication that my jewelry design had gone up a level. I mean, I know it isn’t a blow torch or a power tool or anything truly impressive like that. It’s more of an Easy Bake Oven for beaders but there is something about needing electricity to make something that says (if you will pardon the phrase)  “s**t just got real.” 

Broadway Stuff:
Rob and I were hoping to get back into the city to see Godspell before it closed. Unfortunately, we weren’t able to make it work in time. But as a farewell to a show who left us long before its time, I give you: 

(These young, aspiring actors got to perform on an actual Broadway stage – I can’t imagine anything cooler. And for the record, little-kid-Jesus is one of the more adorable things I have seen in a while. If you look closely during the above video, you can see the trap doors in the stage. At various points, these doors were opened to reveal a fount for the baptism and Last Supper scenes and the trampolines that were part of the choreography for the “We Beseech Thee” number. I know in my earlier post about going to see Godspell, I tried to explain just how cool the Circle in the Square Theater is but just in case I didn’t get my point across, take a look at this:

Lastly, you can take a piece of Godspell home with you. Props and other items are available for sale or auction here. If I had the money and a place to put it, I would love to take home that marquee sign. *sigh*

 In related news, my folks bought Rob and me tickets to go see Once  in August. I am really excited. I loved the movie and the songs and I have been hearing incredible things about this show even before it won eight Tony Awards. Since we are seeing an evening show, the plan is for us to go into the city early and spend the day at the Met before grabbing a bite to eat and seeing the show. We are planning on getting to the theater early since I have heard that the pub that the play takes place in is open for business and a jam session before the show. I seriously cannot wait!!!!! 

Lastly, if you are anywhere near NYC on a Thursday during July or August, you may want to check out these free performances in Bryant Park by the casts of several shows both on and off-Broadway. I am hoping to go to the first one which is going to feature performances from Stomp, Phantom of the Opera, and others.

Photography Class:
I am supposed to be taking a photography class in July but I just heard that they completely shifted the scheduled back a couple of weeks. When Rob and I bought our tickets to Once, we specifically chose the date because it didn’t conflict with my class. Now with the schedule change, it does. I spoke with the school about it and was informed that the class may not even run since only two people (myself included) were enrolled at this point. I am rather annoyed. If the class goes forward, then I will be missing the last session. They offered to refund some of my money to cover that last day but I really wanted to learn the material and do the classwork. If it doesn’t run, then I miss every session. I wanted them to transfer me to a different class but they haven’t put together their Fall schedule yet. The whole thing was left undecided (another thing that annoys me since I am not a big fan of unresolved problems). The woman I spoke with seemed to think that there wasn’t much use in trying to work out scheduling issues for a class that might be cancelled so she advocated waiting to see if the class even ran before we tried to figure out what to do about my issue. 

Board Games with My Nephews:
My oldest nephew, Joey’s birthday is coming up. He is rather hard to shop for but I had an idea that I wanted to test out. Joey likes maps and geography so I thought he might like Ticket to Ride  but I wanted to make sure before we went out and bought it. So we scheduled some time to come over and play a game with Joey to see how he liked it. We also brought along Cartagena,  thinking that between trains and pirates we had some good options for a 10-year-old. Joey’s 4-year-old brother, KC, wanted to play so we split into teams, me and KC vs. Joey and Uncle Rob. Joey wasn’t all that enamored with the game and ditched us after the first game but KC is a little board game playing shark. He was really into the whole thing and had a ball counting out the little train pieces when we built trains and picking which cards we were going to pick up. The only downsides were the fact that he can’t read so I had to point out what routes we were working on (thereby completely tipping our hand to the other team) and the fact that he doesn’t have the concept of stealth down yet. I kept trying to stop him from announcing what cards we drew to the other team. I told him that our cards were a secret. This led to him loudly announcing that we got a “SECRET YELLOW!!” and he was going to put it over here with the 4 other secret yellows we had. This kid is completely adorable but far from subtle. Subtle or not, he stayed focused throughout the game and managed to kick Uncle Rob’s butt in both Ticket to Ride and Cartagena (with an assist from Aunt Kerry, of course). We are really going to have to do that again soon and encourage his interest in board gaming as he gets older so we can have more people to play Settlers of Catan with! 

Dr. Horrible Stuff:
While we were over the house, my sister-in-law, Michele, gave me my birthday present. It was the Dr. Horrible Sing-Along Blog book, complete with all sorts of behind-the-scenes stuff, the script and sheet music to all the songs. (If you aren’t familiar with Dr. Horrible,  it is a musical that follows the adventures of Billy (aka Dr. Horrible) as he attempts to become a supervillain and win the heart of Penny, the girl he has a crush on. It was written by Joss Whedon (creator of Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Firefly, etc., etc.) and features Neil Patrick Harris, Nathan Fillion and Felicia Day. It’s really funny and completely insane and has become a bit of a cult classic so I recommend you check it out.) Anyway,  Rob and I were both excited and a little bit disturbed to find that we knew all the chords to play The Bad Horse theme on our guitars. We have since spent a great deal of time with the Bad Horse theme stuck in our heads.

 I have a bunch of book reviews that I need to write and post in the next few days (especially of the books are due back at the library soon) and a couple of other things that I plan on posting about in the near future but I think this entry is more than long enough. I hope everyone has a great weekend. Talk to you soon!!!

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Beading / Jewelry Making, Crafts, Films and TV, Friends and Family Stuff, Gaming Stuff, Hobby Stuff, Making Music, Music, Photography, Plays and Musicals, What's Up With Ciarrai and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

