Ruffle Scarf

I finished making my mother-in-law’s Christmas gift last night. (This brings us to 22 presents done! *does a little  “I’m-going-to-be-watching-The-Charlie-Brown-Christmas-Special-and-drinking-hot-coco-while-everyone-else-I-know-is-going-to-a-crowded-mall-this-December” dance*). I made her a ruffled scarf out of Katia Ronda yarn. I made it because my MIL can rock a cool scarf and it seems as if ruffle scarves are really trendy at the moment (to make – I haven’t seen anyone besides me wearing one. Please tell me other people are wearing these!). Plus Rob specifically picked out this project for me to make for his mother. He thinks she will love it and (while I am a bit nervous because ruffle scarves can be a whole lot of scarf for some people) it is his mother so we are going with his judgement on this one.

I decided to use the Katia yarn because it is a little more subtle than some of the other ruffle yarns that are out there and because I loved the little black edging on the edge of every ruffle that I saw on the store sample. But for the record, it was not a fun yarn to work with (for me anyway). The stitches would not stay on the needle! If I so much as put the scarf down on the couch next to me for a couple of seconds, regardless of how far back I would push my stitches onto the circular needle I was working with, I would almost instantly hear the sound of my needle slipping free of the scarf and hitting the floor. I didn’t even attempt to bring the scarf anywhere to work on. I can only imagine what a mess it would be if I threw it in a knitting bag. Another thing that annoyed me was that the “fabric” of the ruffles were really flimsy (more like strands of thread held together to make it look like fabric rather than actual fabric) and it was way too easy to get it caught on my needle while I was knitting.

Still the project was a fairly quick knit, the scarf itself has a lot more subtlety than any other ruffle scarf I have ever seen (some of them come out rather boa-like if you aren’t careful), and it looks pretty cute. I am not sure I will ever make another one of these scarves out of the Katia yarn but I am glad that I made this one and I hope Pat likes it.

Ruffled Scarf - Pat (7/12)

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Christmas Crafting, Crafts, Finished Objects, Knitting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ruffle Scarf

Leave a Reply

