The Scottish Play

Last night Rob and I went to go see the Long Island Shakespeare Festival’s  production of “Macbeth.” It was a good production. I particularly was impressed by the performance of the woman playing Lady Macbeth. I think they only have one more performance scheduled this year for this afternoon but if you are in the area and see this in time, you should go check it out and of course, there is always another production to look forward to next year. 

Seeing the play reminded me of a funny story. Back when my sister was in high school, she was very involved in the drama club and was the stage manager for their production of “Jekyll & Hyde.” Rob and I went to see the show on opening night and decided to poke our head in to say “hi” to Lynne and wish her a good show. We found her very agitated and annoyed. It turns out that one member of the cast had been talking about his English class assignment as the cast was gathering before the show and said the title “Macbeth.” This freaked out the more superstitious members of the cast because the play, “Macbeth,” is considered to be cursed and disaster will supposedly rain down upon your production if you invoke the curse by saying its name. Instead, you are supposed to call it “The Scottish Play.” You can read more about the superstition here.  

When the cast tried to get the actor who had named the Scottish Play to go perform the cleansing rituals that allegedly dispel the bad luck (according to Wikipedia, it involves going outside, turning around three times and either cursing or spitting), he not only refused but repeated the word several times and even made up a little song and dance in which he invoked the name several more times. My sister was very annoyed and told him that if ANYTHING went wrong, she was going to hold him PERSONALLY responsible.

Later on, during the show as Dr. Jekyll was about halfway through a big dramatic song, the lab table behind him (containing a TON of glass beakers and lab equipment and liquids) either fell over or collapsed, making a loud sound and sending broken glass everywhere. The actors and crew did their best to deal with it as best they could but it was a big problem for them to deal with. 

During intermission, I was out in the lobby when I saw the door to the light booth get kicked open and heard my sister’s voice demanding “WHERE.. IS.. HE?!” and before she could even get through the doorway, this kid started RUNNING for the exit. It was pretty funny to watch.

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Literature, Plays and Musicals, What's Up With Ciarrai and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

