Making Plans and Getting Organized

I’ve spent most of the summer volunteering at a local school that offers a summer program for students with special needs. Over the course of the summer, I have gotten to know the teachers and other staff that work in the program and several of them have suggested that I bring in some of my jewelry and sell it in the teacher’s lounge. So this Wednesday, for the first time ever, I will be attempting to sell my work. I can’t tell you how nervous and excited I am!! I sort of feel like this is the practice run for Ciarrai Studios as a whole and whether or not I sell anything will give me some insight as to whether or not what I am trying to do will work.  And if that wasn’t enough pressure, unlike when I attempt to sell items online, I am going to be standing next to my pieces, hearing peoples’ comments and opinions which can be a little nerve-wracking.

I have begun to realize how many details go into this sort of endeavor.  I have spent a lot of this past week, selecting which pieces I will bring, what I will charge for them and how I will display them. I had to figure out packaging for if/when one of them sells. I had to design business cards and flyers and other marketing items so that my customers will hopefully visit the shop and become repeat customers. I’ve been brainstorming things that I have to bring with me (a mirror so people can try on the necklaces, money to make change with, etc.) and every night something new and completely indispensable gets added to the list.  The last thing I added to the list was my camera so I can document the momentous occasion of my first sales display and (hopefully) my first sale. It can feel a little overwhelming but I think I have a good handle on things and will hopefully think of everything that is truly essential before Wednesday.

I have decided that I am only going to bring the resin pendants that I have made and not the beaded, gemstone pieces. For the first part, I am not sure the gemstone pieces are a good fit for this environment and this audience. Secondly, bringing only one thing streamlines my set up (and the amount of stuff I have to lug to the school and back), simplifies my set up and minimizes my start up costs. Lastly, I plan on having the “grand opening” of the online store in the next couple of weeks and I think that the resin pendants will be easier to restock than the gemstones. So even if this sale does really well (knock wood) then I will still be able to proceed with the grand opening without having to push it back.

I took stock of the designs I have made so far and decided that they were too monochromatic, much too much black and white and not enough variety so I also took the time to make a bunch of new designs with a lot more color options. Hopefully I should be able to get some photos of them to post here before bringing them into school for the sale.

Anyway, I have  long list of things that I am still trying to organize and get done so I should stop stalling, get off the computer and get to work.  I will post more over the next couple of days but until then, please wish me luck, both in the getting ready process, the actual sale itself and in keeping my nerves/excitement to a manageable level. I can use all the luck I can get!

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Beading / Jewelry Making, Ciarrai Studios, Crafts, What's Up With Ciarrai and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Making Plans and Getting Organized

  1. Pingback: Look What I Made: Eight New Resin Pendant Designs |

Leave a Reply

