Checking In

It feels as if it has been forever since I posted something here. It feels even longer if I think back to the last thing I posted that wasn’t all about beading and jewelry. Sorry about that folks. I am hoping to get Ciarrai Studios ready for an August 20th grand opening but that means that I have been in a frenzy of photographing pieces, writing up descriptions and keywords, pricing, and occasionally getting to do the fun part of designing a new piece or two. (For the record, it won’t be too hard to maintain once the store is open and I am adding a couple of pieces at a time but I have 50+ items that I need to write up and describe and it is a bit of a daunting task).

I have been so insanely busy that I really haven’t had time to knit or read or do anything other than work on the store. Hopefully, I will get a handle on everything soon and can stop being so single-minded, especially since the fall semester is starting soon and I really will need to focus on my classes once they begin.

I would have some really cool pieces to show off today if only the rest of the beading supplies I ordered would arrive. *glares at my empty mailbox*

I have this incredible earthy, boho-chic piece in the works that was inspired by a Maya Angelou poem but while I have the pendant and gemstone in hand, I am still waiting for all the findings  (clasp, jump rings, crimp bead covers, etc) and the antiqued copper and brass that will contrast beautifully with the gemstone to arrive. I called the company and they say that it will most likely arrive sometime next week. It’s killing me to wait because I am really excited about this piece!

I also have some new resin pendants in the works but I ran out of resin and I am waiting for the resin that I ordered to arrive. Once it does, I will have these incredibly cute sushi-themed pendants, complete with little silver chopsticks. I am also working on a Secret Garden-themed necklace that I am really excited about and some coffee-themed pieces (even though I, personally, am a tea drinker). I found the cutest little coffee bean charms and some Swarovski crystal, in a color that is appropriately named “Mocha” and I think the combination will be adorable.

But since I can’t finish any of these pieces until I receive my supplies and because it has to be done, I am going to go back to doing the not-so-glamorous but oh-so-necessary administrative and marketing work that I need to do in order to open the store. Wish me luck in getting it all done really soon!

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Beading / Jewelry Making, Ciarrai Studios, Crafts, What's Up With Ciarrai and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

