Making Progress on the Christmas List

I have been so absorbed with the store and with school that I have been neglecting my Christmas crafting list shamefully. I know a lot of people don’t start their Christmas shopping until much later than this but I am really hoping to be done before Thanksgiving (if not Halloween). Handmade Christmas gifts add a lot of pressure to the holiday if you don’t get them done early and this year, I will have finals and (hopefully) holiday sales on Ciarrai Studios to manage so I would like to give myself as much breathing room as possible. Also, I find some sort of perverse pleasure in annoying the chronic last-minute folks in my life by getting finished super early. I get made fun of by some of my family members and friends for being “obsessed” but it is totally worth it when I get to stay home and watch the Charlie Brown Christmas special in my nice warm house while they have to go out in the cold to go Christmas shopping through crowded malls.

Anyway, as I mentioned before I am way behind where I was hoping to be because the store took up so much of my crafting time and resources but I think I am back on track now. Yesterday, my plans got rescheduled and Rob was working late so I sat myself down and had a knitting marathon until I finished my Dad’s Christmas hat. My dad and I have a tradition that he gets a wacky / silly / crazy hat every year. This year, I made this:

Cuss Hat - Dad 9/12
My dad has been known to indulge in the occasional bout of colorful language so I thought this might be a funny way of expressing himself without having to have someone bleeping his comments.  It is also a show of daughterly love (above and beyond what any hand-knit gift would be) because it involved a lot of color work (which is my knitting kryptonite – I can do it but it sucks the life out of me). I’ve been dreading making this because I really hate color work but yesterday when I realized I had so much time on my hand, I sat down and refused to get up again (except for food and bathroom breaks) until the thing was done.

My hubby also got to cross someone off the Christmas list. He made this gift for my cousin / best friend, Nikki.

Catan Clock - Nikki 9/12

She’s a huge boardgaming geek (like I am) so I think she will love this Settlers of Catan clock. We can’t claim credit for the idea. We saw something similar on Etsy but Rob was able to figure out how to make one using the pieces from a game we had in the house. It came out pretty cute so we might make one for ourselves (although we are also debating making a Carcassonne version with little meeples instead of numbers.

So with these two done, our grand total is 25 Christmas gifts done. I still have a lot to do but at least now I feel like I am making some progress!

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Christmas Crafting, Crafts, Gaming Stuff, Knitting and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

