Happy Talk Like a Pirate Day! (Arrrrrr!)

Today is the day we celebrate everyone’s favorite scallywags of the sea. It got me thinking about all my favorite pirates. (It says something about pop culture that I can discuss my favorite pirates but I think that is a bigger topic than I am prepared to tackle today).  The Dread Pirate Robert, Captain Jack Sparrow, Captain Hook (particularly the version played by Dustin Hoffman in the movie, Hook), One-Eyed Willie from Goonies (the movie that started my love of all things Sean Astin), the Pirates of Penzance…. there are some great pirate-y characters out there. But my favorite was a woman by the name of Grace O’Malley or Grania. She was an Irishwoman living during the time of Elizabeth I and she hit the English hard by targeting their merchant ships and costing the English crown quite a bit. But according to history, when she got in a bind she had the guts to sail right into England, demand and get an audience with Elizabeth herself and negotiated her way out of trouble. You can read a great account of her life in Grania by Morgan Llywelyn

There was even a Broadway musical based on this story, The Pirate Queen. Rob and I went to see it when it first came out but were rather underwhelmed. I guess it was a common reaction because the show closed rather quickly. It’s really a shame because there was a lot of potential in the story that I think could have made a good play. 

‘Here there be Pirates! (Part 1)’ by CiarraiStudios

Happy Talk Like a Pirate Day!


Steampunk – 250cm Steam…

$7400.00

Pirate HOOK – real meta…

$300.00

Steampunk Victorian Com…

$39.99

Pirate/Steampunk Glass …

$18.00

1 pc Vintage Style Coll…

$9.99

Pirate’s Piece of E…

$8.98

Pirate Ship & Kraken Ri…

$38.00

Pirate Ship dual purpos…

$24.99

Helm Pirate ship nautic…

$2.50

Pirate Ship Sea Galleon…

$65.00

Vintage Style Pirate Tr…

$8.99

Vintage Schooner, Pirat…

$50.00

Giant Octopus Attacks P…

$10.00

The Pirates Are Coming …

$25.00

Nantes – Pirate – 8×8 F…

$22.00

Black & White “Pir…

$14.00

Treasury tool supported by the dog house

‘Here there be Pirates (Part 2)’ by CiarraiStudios

The cuter side of piracy and some shout outs to some of my favorite pirates.


Pirate hat

$18.00

Crochet Pattern – PIRAT…

$5.99

Pirate Princess Costume…

$45.00

Pirate Hat

$79.00

Pirate Bed

$12400.00

Pirate Pillow

$35.00

green parrot pirate hat…

$13.00

Pirate cookies – 2 doze…

$20.50

Pirate Crew Finger Pupp…

$32.00

Peg Leg Pirate Amigurum…

$50.00

Pretty Pirate Wench Ami…

$55.00

Boy Pirate Rag Doll

$35.00

Cloth Treasure Map for …

$7.50

Goonies Pirate Skull Up…

$15.00

Princess Bride I am not…

$16.00

Jack Sparrow Amigurumi

$30.00

Treasury tool supported by the dog house

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Etsy, Films and TV, Literature, Plays and Musicals, Shopping, Stuff You May Like and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

