Look What I Made: Americana Throw Blanket

A few months back, my 10-year-old nephew, Joey, asked me to knit him a blanket, specifically he wanted a red, white and blue blanket. (Because he was born on the 4th of July, those are his colors). So I decided to make him a big throw blanket that he could cuddle up with while watching tv on the couch as a kid but that could also work when he gets older too. I picked out tweed versions of the red, white and blue yarn because I didn’t want the white to be too stark or to get dingy after a little use. I thought this yarn would be a bit more forgiving of the use and abuse it would get. It also gave the blanket a very cool country primitive look that I thought worked really well with the Americana theme.

The blue squares feature a subtle star pattern (obviously a reference to the American flag). I made the white blocks with a ripple pattern that reminded me of the waving of a flag in the wind. The red blocks were made with a checkerboard / basket weave pattern that doesn’t have any specific symbolism but seemed to work well with the overall feel and theme of the blanket. Now all I have to do is make a matching pillow (which was also requested) and I have one more Christmas gift done.

Americana Throw Blanket - Joey (10/12)

Americana Throw Blanket - Joey (10/12)

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Christmas Crafting, Crafts, Finished Objects, Knitting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

