After the Storm

Hey folks! Just checking in to say that everyone here weathered Hurricane Sandy as well as could be expected. We’re all safe and our house came through undamaged. We lost electricity and internet access for a couple of days (which felt downright apocalyptic but was, compared to what could have happened and what has happened to others, really just an inconvenience). I spent the daylight hours knitting these cute little gift card holders / Christmas tree ornaments that I am planning on selling on my etsy store and the nights staring at the cat in dark rooms, waiting for Rob to get home from work. (He works for Cablevision so he’s been working late as they try to deal with storm clean up). We’re back up and running (Thank God for electricity and Internet Access!!!) but the aftermath of the storm keeps making itself felt in weird ways.

Its been a bit tricky to drive anywhere because:

A) there are still a lot of trees down in roads and some areas are flooded,

B) a lot of traffic lights are out and people are not being as courteous or careful as they could be while driving and

C) gas is in short supply on the Island.

Rob and I found a gas station that was both open with electricity and had gas to sell but we had to go really out of our way to find it. Yesterday, when the power on my block was restored and the gas station at the end of the street could open, there was a line of cars stretched down our neighborhood, mobbing the place for gas. It was insane!

My school has been closed all week and I am not sure when classes will start up again. This is a little weird because I was supposed to have a midterm in my sign language class last week and I have a paper that was due on Tuesday but with most of the Island not having power (and all my notes and stuff on my computer) and not having access to the library or any research materials for a week, I am hoping for an extension. (I know, in a situation like this, problems like this are really trivial but I still have to scramble and make sure that I am ready for whatever comes when school starts up again).

I am also scrambling to get ready for a family wedding that is scheduled for this Sunday. (Can you imagine trying to have a wedding in the middle of all this hurricane insanity! The poor bride!!) To make matters a little more complicated, the happy couple have chosen a Halloween theme for their wedding and everyone is supposed to come in “elegant costumes.” This posed a little bit of a problem for Rob and I since we have trouble finding costumes in our size that we can afford, especially when going for elegance. So we had to get creative.

I am going gothic as a Vampire. Anyone who knows me, knows this really not my style. Each of my sisters went through goth stages with dyed hair and dramatic make up and black clothing but I never did. I tend to be really natural – no make-up, my hair its natural, dirty blond color, etc. but hopefully I can pull off a more dramatic look.

The centerpiece of my outfit is my jewelry. Remember my Mina Harker Lace Vampire Bat necklace? Well, recently I made smaller versions of it in several different color schemes.

 
Mini Mina Harkers Gothic Lace Vampire Bat Necklaces
There’s a :

Red Bat with Black Crystal

Purple Bat with Black Crystal

and a Black Bat with Red Crystal 

I am going to wear the black bat with red crystal Mini Mina necklace with a red tuxedo style shirt and black slacks. I’ve got fake vampire fangs, a dramatic, oversized ring and the cutest little mini-top hat (made of a black sparkly material and decorated with black feathers, veiling and a red rose). I am cutting my hair fairly short (which I have been wanting to do for some time now) and I am going to dye it (with wash-out dye) a dark color with blood-red accents. The hat will get pinned in my hair, off to one side to give me a little playful drama. Add in red nails and some dark make-up and I am all set to go.

(I wanted to do a lot more accessorizing – particularly, I wanted to make or buy a black lace cuff or slave bracelet like this one and dramatic earrings (which have to be clip ons because my ears are not pierced anymore) but there wasn’t time to pull it all off, particularly with the Island still dealing with so much storm aftermath.  I know this is totally a first world kind of problem but from what I hear from the other ladies in the family, there are going to be a lot of really great costumes at this wedding – which is going to be held at a very fancy place – and I am just worried about being underdressed.)

Rob is going as Clark Kent. We found a blue t-shirt with the Superman logo on it and he is going to wear that under a suit that we bought him. We got costume glasses that are just perfect for a mild-mannered reporter and are going to get him a reporter’s notebook that we are going to attach the Daily Planet logo to. Whenever anyone asks him what he is dressed as, he is going to whip off the glasses and pull open his dress shirt to reveal the Superman shirt underneath, like he is Clark Kent bursting out of a phone booth to save the day as Superman. There is this street corner in Port Jefferson where there is a red, old-fashioned phone booth. We were planning on going there the day of the wedding and taking some photos of Rob in his costume but when last I heard, Port Jeff was hit hard by flooding after Sandy so I am not sure we will be able to do that just yet.

What I love about both of our costumes is that they are mostly real life clothes that can be worn after the wedding is over. My shirt can be worn after the wedding, especially with the holidays coming up. I am sure that I can find a use for a red dress shirt around Christmas and New Years Eve. I also really needed a new pair of dress shoes. My last pair disintegrated and I am not the kind of girl with a million pairs of shoes in the closet. I found a basic black ballet flat (as a tall woman with ankle problems, I don’t do heels) for $10 and it will serve me well for anytime I have to dress up in the coming months.

And Rob has been wanting to buy a suit for some time now. It’s really an essential item in any man’s wardrobe and he hasn’t had one in a while. So whenever anything like a wedding or a funeral come up, he is left scrambling or feeling underdressed. This was a good time to get the suit because he has been working out (weight lifting in a gym that he built from scratch in the backyard) and has lost a lot of weight. I don’t think he realized just how well he was doing until he went shopping for new clothing. So I think the experience was a bit encouraging for him. (It was also pretty entertaining for me when we got home and I made him model the new suit for my mom. My sister was a bit too enthusiastic about how good his backside was looking in the new pants and how the squats that he has been doing have really been paying off. The more she talked, and she really lacks any kind of mental filter so she tends to speak her mind at length, he got more and more weirded out. I eventually rescued him but it was funny to watch).

So that’s it for me. I hope all of you are doing well and that those of you on the East Coast are safe and came through the storm alright.

 

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Beading / Jewelry Making, Ciarrai Studios, Crafts, Etsy, Finished Objects, Friends and Family Stuff, Knitting, School Stuff, What's Up With Ciarrai and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

