Going “Gothic”

Last night, Rob and I went to a Halloween-themed wedding where the guests were requested to wear “elegant costumes.” Despite the fact that I tend to be a very natural kind of girl (I usually don’t wear make-up, I keep my hair its natural color and don’t put any kind of sprays or gels in it, etc.) I thought this occasion required a bit of drama so I decided to go as a vampire and “goth” it up for an evening. I went all out.

I dyed my hair black, thinking it would heighten the effect but it turns out that my look tends to go a little more princess chic than dark undead temptress. Fortunately, my sister was able to style my hair and do my make-up (SOOOO much make-up! I think if you added up every bit of make-up I have worn in the last 5 years, it is still less than I had on my face last night!) which really made the difference. If I had been left to my own devices, I would have ended up looking like someone who would be singing: “Someday my prince will come – and then I shall drink his blood!!” Needless to say that is not the look I was going for.

I finished off my outfit with the cutest little mini top hat (also very helpful in de-Disney-afying me) and one of my Mini Mina Lace vampire Bat Necklaces. I was also going to put a red strip in my hair and wear these long, red, fake nails (since mine are non-existent) but there just wasn’t enough time before the wedding.

We didn’t even have time to take pictures of our costumes before we left. My mom snapped a few on her iPhone and Rob got one that came out pretty decently at the wedding itself (the hall was beautiful but rather dimly lit). I tried to get some good shots of Rob in his Clark Kent outfit but the lighting just wasn’t working in our favor. Since his costume doesn’t involve a ton of styling and make-up like mine did, we are going to do a little mini photo shoot later on in the week but this cute old-fashioned phone booth we know about. Not only is it appropriate for his costume, but it is always better to take photos of Rob out in Sunlight. He blinks if you even think about turning on a flash and his fake Clark Kent glasses pick up every ounce of glare they can! So if you were interested in seeing my handsome hubby as a mild-mannered reporter, I am afraid you will have to wait but if you want a good giggle at the sight of me trying to be all gothic, here you go:
DSC_2276

Vampire Kerry 2

Vampire Kerry 8

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Friends and Family Stuff, What's Up With Ciarrai. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

