Just a little frantic

I don’t know how this happened but Thanksgiving is less than a week away. Despite the fact that I start ridiculously early and work steadily throughout the year, I am not done with my Christmas crafting or shopping and that is making me a little bit crazy. My 12-year-old niece called me up the other day to tell me we only had 40 days left until Christmas and when I told her that I wasn’t ready for the holidays yet, she commented “Really? Because usually you are gloating by now!” (which to be fair, I usually am).  I reminded her that my “being behind” is usually much closer to being done than other people’s but the truth is that I am more crunched for time this year than I like to be.

Part of it is that we lost a lot of time and resources to Hurricane Sandy and the winter snow storm that hit a week or so later. It also pushed a lot of school work and deadlines later than they were originally supposed to be. I had a big paper due for my Literature of the Bible class that I wasn’t able to work on because I had no electricity to run my computer, no lights to read the few bits of research I had printed out and the school library was closed for over a week. It was an interesting paper topic on the birth narratives of  barren mothers of the Bible (women like Sarah and Hannah who were barren but eventually conceived and gave birth) and the connection between them and God’s covenant with Abraham. But the time it took to write it and get it in slowed down the holiday prep quite a bit.

I also was slowed down by the amount of work I have been doing for Ciarrai Studios. I can only knit or bead one project at a time and if I am making stuff for the store, I am not making stuff for myself. I thought I had taken that into account with all my time management but I didn’t count on how much time I would spend doing the marketing and administrating aspects of the store. I keep trying to optimize my store and my item listings so people can find my work and I am not sure I have managed to find the best way of doing that yet. I am still such an etsy newbie and have a lot to learn and with the holidays coming up so quickly I don’t have a lot of time to learn it.

The good news is that I really love some of the new pieces I have been working on for the store.  I have the first batch of new pendant designs curing as we speak but I couldn’t resist taking a sneak peek photo.

 Pendant Sneak Preview

I am making another of the Aslan Pendants (from The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe) which sold out so quickly last time, as well as a poem inspired by the Robert Frost poem “Stopping By the Woods on a Snowy Evening” (one of my favorites). There’s also some lovely Christmas Carol sheet music pendants, a nativity scene, a new teapot and some really pretty snowflake pendants. I’ve got two more days before I can assemble them all into necklaces and get them up on the store but I think they will come out great!

I’ve also got some other pieces in the works, including some new lace necklaces, gift card holders / ornaments for the holidays (great for teacher gifts, co-workers, secret santa, etc), Ciarrai Studios gift cards, some Garnet gemstone pieces, and necklaces that feature real dried lavender (such an incredible fragrance!)

In the meanwhile, I keep chipping away at school stuff (I have my midterm for Sign Language Monday evening) and sneak in work on my own Christmas list whenever possible. I finished a garnet necklace for my sister-in-law yesterday and I am working on my mom’s present (which once I finish, I will be done with my side of the family and then I will only have to work on the in-law gifts) I may be further behind that I wanted to be but at least there is still forward motion and progress – or at least, that is what I keep telling myself.

Garnet Necklace - Michele (11/12)

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Beading / Jewelry Making, Christmas Crafting, Ciarrai Studios, Crafts, Etsy, Finished Objects, Literature, Music, School Stuff, What's Up With Ciarrai and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

