Playlist – Mrs. Potter’s Lullaby by Counting Crow

I love Counting Crow’s music in general because their lyrics have a lot of substance to them with plenty to think about. I love Mrs. Potter’s Lullaby  specifically because it has a great melody that is a lot of fun to sing along with and some incredible imagery in the lyrics. How can you not love a song with lyrics like these?

Well, I woke up in mid-afternoon cuz that’s when it all hurts the most.
I dreamed I never know anyone at the party and I’m always the host.
If dreams are like movies then memories are films about ghosts.
You can never escape you can only move south down the coast.
 I am an idiot walking a tightrope of fortune and fame.
I am an acrobat swinging trapezes through circles of flame.
If you’ve never stared off into the distance then your life is a shame.
And though I’ll never forget your face, sometimes I can’t remember my name.

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Music, Playlist and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment